England’s Tommy Fleetwood took the lead in the Race to Dubai standings by firing a final round 66 to win the HNA Open de France by a shot from Peter Uihlein of the USA.

Tommy Fleetwood posted and excellent fourth round of 66 to win the HNA Open de France by a shot from America’s Peter Uihlein.

Fleetwood began the last day a shot off the lead but he moved into top spot with a fabulous two at the 2nd hole on day four. Both Uihlein and Sweden’s Alexander Bjork threatened Fleetwood’s lead after that but the Englishman held firm to retain the top spot.

Fleetwood turned in 33 with a one-shot advantage and extended his lead to three through 13 holes. Uihlein reduced the deficit on the run for home however and had a chance to tie Fleetwood at the top by the time he came to the final hole. He was unable to get the birdie he needed though and Fleetwood had the victory.

Uihlein finished alone in second with Mike Lorenzo-Vera of France, Alexander Bjork of Sweden and Thorbjorn Olesen of Denmark tied for third.

3 Talking points from the HNA Open de France

1 – This victory saw Tommy Fleetwood move to the top of the Race to Dubai standings. The 26-year-old won in Abu Dhabi earlier this year and has recorded top fives in the WGC-Mexico Championship and the US Open. He should now move into the top-20 on the Official World Golf Ranking.

Tommy Fleetwood at Birkdale:

2 – Peter Uihlein may have been disappointed with missing out on the victory but he could console himself with the fact he earned a spot at The Open Championship. With three spots at Royal Birkdale on offer in this event, Uihlein took the first place and Mike Lorenzo-Vera and Alexander Bjork claimed the second and third spots.

3 – Denmark’s Thorbjorn Olesen fired a superb final round of 65 to climb the board and end the week in a tie for third place.

HNA Open de France
Le Golf National, Paris, France
Jun 29- Jul 2
Purse: $7,000,000 Par: 71

1    Tommy Fleetwood (Eng)    67    68    71    66    272    
2    Peter Uihlein (USA)        67    67    71    68    273    
T3    Mike Lorenzo-Vera (Fra)    71    69    70    66    276    
T3    Thorbjorn Olesen (Den)        69    69    73    65    276
T3    Alexander Bjork (Swe)        66    69    70    71    276
6    Ryan Fox (NZ)            73    67    70    67    277
T7    Ross Fisher (Eng)            70    67    71    70    278
T7    Adrian Otaegui (Esp)        68    66    74    70    278
T7    Li Haotong (Chn)            71    70    70    67    278
T10    Lee Westwood (Eng)        71    67    71    70    279
T10    Alex Noren (Swe)            69    71    69    70    279
T10    Jon Rahm (Esp)            70    69    71    69    279

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage