The Championship returns to Scotland next year...

Where Is The Open In 2022?

The Open Championship returns to the Kent coast in 2021, to be hosted at Royal St George’s.

The event was obviously cancelled in 2020 thanks to the Covid-19 pandemic and as a result the Open Championship schedule was basically pushed back a year.

The English links course was the first venue outside of Scotland to host the Open Championship in 1984 when JH Taylor won and didn’t break 80 once.

In 1993 – 99 years later – Greg Norman became the first champion golfer to shoot four rounds in the 60s.

The course is the only Open venue in the south of England and is situated next door to two other former Open venues in Royal Cinque Ports and Prince’s.

But enough about 2021’s host venue, where is the 2022 tournament set to take place?

Related: Who runs the Open Championship?

The famous finish on the Old Course at St Andrews (Getty Images)

Well it is actually the 150th edition of the tournament and as a result The Open Championship will return to the home of golf, St Andrews and the Old Course.

Golf’s oldest major championship will be returning to the Old Course for the first time in seven years after Zach Johnson lifted the Claret Jug in 2015.

He beat Louis Oosthuizen and Marc Leishman in a playoff to win his second major championship after Masters glory in 2007.

Past St Andrews Open Champions include Louis Oosthuizen (2010), Tiger Woods (2005 and 2000), John Daly (1995), Nick Faldo (1990), Seve Ballesteros (1984) and Jack Nicklaus (1978 and 1970).

Going further back; JH Taylor, James Braid, Bobby Jones, Sam Snead, Peter Thompson and Bobby Locke all triumphed in St Andrews Opens.

Speaking at the announcement back in 2018, Martin Slumbers, Chief Executive of The R&A, said, “The Championship enjoys a historic and celebrated relationship with the Old Course in St Andrews and we are excited to be marking the occasion of the 150th Championship at the home of golf in 2021 (now 2022).

“St Andrews has produced a revered group of outstanding Champion Golfers since The Open was first played on the Old Course in 1873. Once again we look forward to seeing the greatest players take on the challenge of the world’s most iconic links course in their pursuit of the Claret Jug.”

Open Championship Future Venues

2022 – St Andrews

2023 – Royal Liverpool

2024 – Royal Troon

2025 – TBC

For all the latest golf news, check out the Golf Monthly website