Who are the Ryder Cup captains for the 2018 event at Le Golf National in Paris? Find out here

Ryder Cup Captains

The captains for the 2018 Ryder Cup at Le Golf National were announced as early as 2016.

Europe Ryder Cup Captain

The big Dane Thomas Bjorn was selected by a five-man panel made up of former Ryder Cup players Darren Clarke, Paul McGinley, and Jose Maria Olazabal, along with current player Henrik Stenson and the Chief Executive of the European Tour, Keith Pelley.

Bjorn was announced as the European captain on December 6th 2016.

16 Things You Didn't Know About Thomas Bjorn

USA Ryder Cup Captain

The United States captain is Jim Furyk who was announced on the 11th of January 2017. Furyk won the 2003 US Open and has played on 9 Ryder Cup teams.

Europe Ryder Cup Vice Captains

Bjorn, looking to get revenge for the European loss at Hazeltine in 2016, has selected five vice-captains to help him ensure victory.

Bjorn with his five vice-captains (Getty Images)

Some of the finest golfers Europe has ever produced, Bjorn selected 3-time Major winner Padraig Harrington, former world number one’s Lee Westwood and Luke Donald, 2010 US Open winner Graeme McDowell and finally, the 2008 European Tour Order of Merit winner, Robert Karlsson, to be his vice captains in Paris. There is a huge amount of experience in the Vice Captains, they have all played on winning Ryder Cup teams and their knowledge will be invaluable.

USA Ryder Cup Vice Captains

Vice captains

Furyk has named five assistants. He picked victorious 2016 Ryder Cup captain Davis Love III, Steve Stricker, Zach Johnson, David Duval and Matt Kuchar. Tiger Woods was originally one of the vice captains but due to his incredible turnaround in form was picked as one of the USA Wildcards to play on the team.

Related: Ryder Cup Teams 2018

Stay up to date with all the news regarding the Ryder Cup by following Golf Monthly on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and checking out the website.