Rory McIlroy Named AGW Golfer Of The Year For Fourth Time

Golf writers honour the 33-year-old after a remarkable year where he reclaimed the World No.1 position

Rory McIlroy takes a shot during the 2022 DP World Tour Championship at the Earth Course, Dubai
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Rory McIlroy has been named the Association of Golf Writers (AGW) Golfer of the Year for a record-equalling fourth time.

The announcement caps a remarkable 2022 for the 33-year-old, who won the FedEx Cup, finished top in the DP World Tour’s Race to Dubai standings and reclaimed the World No.1 spot in the Official World Golf Ranking.

Video: Things You Didn't Know About Rory McIlroy

The Northern Irishman, who also claimed the award in 2012, 2014, 2015, was delighted with the news. He said: “I am honoured to be recognised for the fourth time by members of the Association as their AGW Golfer of the Year. I have always enjoyed a great rapport with members of the AGW and the media, in general, and it’s not lost on me how beneficial their work is at spreading the word of the game of golf around the world."

McIlroy also paid tribute to the media for its work during a turbulent year that has seen the introduction of PGA Tour rival LIV Golf. He said: “The Association is to be congratulated for the work they undertake in continuing to report on golf in these ever-changing times and also their efforts each year to recognise achievements in the game with the hosting of this prestigious award.”

AGW Chairman Martin Dempster explained why McIlroy fully deserves the recognition. He said: “Rory McIlroy is a worthy winner once again of our prestigious award, having become just the second player to be crowned as the No.1 on both the DP World Tour and PGA Tour in the same season. There were lots of other strong contenders, including Matthew Fitzpatrick after his brilliant breakthrough Major win in the US Open at Brookline, as well as Linn Grant, who won four times as she topped the Ladies European Tour Order of Merit."

Dempster said the award also recognises the important role McIlroy has played in his communication with the media this year. He said: “Rory comfortably came out on top in our poll, which was an indication that, in addition to how he plays the game, AGW members also appreciate his frankness, which has certainly been evident this year in particular.”

McIlroy, who joins Lee Westwood as the only other player to be honoured four times, will receive the award at next July's Open Championship at Royal Liverpool. Fitzpatrick came second with Grant in third.

Looking for the perfect gift for the festive season? Check out the best Christmas Golf Gift Ideas

Mike Hall
Freelance Staff Writer

Mike has over 25 years of experience in journalism, including writing on a range of sports throughout that time, such as golf, football and cricket. Now a freelance staff writer for Golf Monthly, he is dedicated to covering the game's most newsworthy stories. 

He has written hundreds of articles on the game, from features offering insights into how members of the public can play some of the world's most revered courses, to breaking news stories affecting everything from the PGA Tour and LIV Golf to developmental Tours and the amateur game. 

Mike grew up in East Yorkshire and began his career in journalism in 1997. He then moved to London in 2003 as his career flourished, and nowadays resides in New Brunswick, Canada, where he and his wife raise their young family less than a mile from his local course. 

Kevin Cook’s acclaimed 2007 biography, Tommy’s Honour, about golf’s founding father and son, remains one of his all-time favourite sports books.