Phil Mickelson Has Say On Rules Infringement

Hear what Mickelson had to say after his rules infringement

Phil Mickelson Has Say On Rules Infringement
(Image credit: Andrew Redington)

Hear what Lefty had to say after his rules controversy on the 13th hole

Phil Mickelson Has Say On Rules Infringement

Phil Mickelson had a mad moment on the 13th green during the 3rd round of the US Open and his explanation was startling.

Lefty raced his ball past the hole and it was on its way down off the green before he ran after it and hit it in motion.

Related: Zach Johnson - They've lost the golf course

He was given a two stroke penalty for hitting a moving ball to take his score on the hole to a 10.

Mickelson explained to the media after the round that he knew the two stroke penalty rule and hit the moving ball to gain an advantage, as the ball would have ended up behind a bunker.

See more

“Look, I don’t mean disrespect to anybody. I know it’s a two shot penalty," he told FOX's Curtis Strange.

"At that time, I just didn’t feel like going back and forth.

“It’s my understanding of the rules. I’ve had multiple times where I’ve wanted to do that, I just finally did.

“It was meant to take advantage of the rules as best as you can.”

See more

The five-time major champion ended up with a 10 on the hole.

Expand Zach Johnson: They’ve Lost The Golf Course

Zach Johnson: They've Lost The Golf Course

Zach Johnson: They’ve Lost The Golf Course

The course has been heavily criticised

Expand US Open Leaderboard 2019

US Open Leaderboard

US Open Leaderboard 2019

Find out who is leading the US Open…

Expand Scott Gregory Shows Class In US Open Last Place Finish

Zach Johnson: They've Lost The Golf Course

Scott Gregory Shows Class In US Open Last Place Finish

The Englishman invited 25 soldiers and their families…

Expand US Open TV Coverage 2019

US Open TV Coverage

US Open TV Coverage 2019

Here we take a look at how and…

For all the latest US Open news, check the Golf Monthly website and follow our social media channels