A look back at the Baltusrol previous winners ahead of the 98th USPGA Championship

2016 USPGA: Baltusrol Previous Winners

Baltusrol Golf Club hosts the 2016 USPGA Championship this year for only the second time.

The first occasion was in 2005 when Phil Mickelson won his second major.

The club has, however, hosted the US Open on seven occasions, most recently in 1993 when Lee Janzen won.

Related: 2016 USPGA Golf Betting Tips

Here are the previous major winners at Baltusrol:

2005 USPGA Championship – Phil Mickelson 276 (-4)

Baltusrol previous winners

Phil Mickelson sealed his second major championship with a stunning up-and-down on the 72nd hole. He flopped it from thick grass to tap-in range to birdie 18 and beat Thomas Bjorn and Steve Elkington by a stroke.

Baltusrol Golf Club Hole by Hole Guide

1993 US Open – Lee Janzen 272 (-8)

Baltusrol Previous winners

Lee Janzen holds the trophy over his head after winning the 1993 U.S. Open at the Batusrol.

Lee Janzen tied Jack Nicklaus’ US Open scoring record by shooting four rounds in the 60s to win by two from Payne Stewart. Janzen birdied the 16th with a chip-in and also birdied the last.

1980 US Open – Jack Nicklaus 272 (-8)

Baltusrol previous winners

Jack Nicklaus is escorted by police after winning the 1980 US Open at Baltusrol Golf Club. (Photo by John Kelly/Getty Images)

The Golden bear won his fourth US Open by setting a new tournament scoring record, beating his previous effort in 1967 at Baltusrol. He began the week with a 63 and followed up with rounds of 71, 70 and 68 to beat Japan’s Isao Aoki by two.

Last 10 winners of the USPGA Championship

1967 US Open – Jack Nicklaus 275 (-5)

Baltusrol Previous Winners

Jack Nicklaus celebrates the winning putt on the final green at Baltusrol

This was Nicklaus’ second US Open win and seventh major as he set a new tournament scoring record of 275. He ended with a 65 to beat Arnold Palmer, the only other man under par, by four strokes. He birdied five of his first eight holes and holed a 20 footer on the last (pictured above).

1954 US Open – Ed Furgol 284 (+4)

Furgol won his only major title in a groundbreaking US Open. It was the first to be televised and also the first to included ropes for spectators. Furgol parred the last, by getting up and down for par from the other course’s (Upper Course) 18th fairway, to win by one.

Other wins:

1936 US Open (Upper Course) – Tony Manero 282 (-6)

The relatively unknown Manero beat England’s Harry Cooper by two shots to win his only major. His final round 67 (-5) was enough to get past Cooper who was the leader after 54 holes.

1915 US Open (Old Course, now no longer exists) – Jerome Travers (a) 297 (+1)

1903 US Open (Old Course, now no longer exists) – Willie Anderson 307 (+7)