Jimmy Walker held on to win the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am by a single shot from fellow Americans Dustin Johnson and Jim Renner. It was his third victory in his last eight PGA Tour starts.

Walker began the final round six clear of the field and was still five ahead with nine to play. On the 17th tee his lead was two and, by the time he reached the 18th green, he needed to get down in two putts from 25 feet to avoid a playoff with Johnson and Renner.

He raced his birdie effort past the cup and had to hole out from five-feet to take the title.

“It’s drama man,” he said. “It was too much for me.”

Having three-putted twice on the back nine, it was surely going through his mind that the same could happen on the home hole.

“I hate three-putting,” he said. “I certainly didn’t want another of them on the last there!”

With the victory, Walker has extended his lead at the top of the FedEx Cup points list, and is now $1 million clear at the top of the Ryder Cup qualification standings.

Johnson fired a closing 66 and Renner a 67 to climb through the field and end the week in a tie for second. Two behind them were Jordan Spieth and Kevin Na.

Spieth recovered brilliantly to finish with a 67 after a disappointing third round of 78.

Graeme McDowell also closed with a 67 to end the week in a tie for seventh. It was a good week for the Northern Irishman who made his first start at Pebble Beach after winning the U.S. Open around the course in 2010.

Jim Renner and John Harkey Jr. won the Pro-Am element of the competition.

AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am
Pebble Beach Golf Links, Pebble Beach, California
Feb 6-9, purse $6,600,000

1   Jimmy Walker (USA)   66   69   67   74   276   $1,188,000
T2   Dustin Johnson (USA)   68   73   70   66   277   $580,800
T2   Jim Renner (USA)      65   73   72   67   277   $580,800
T4   Kevin Na (USA)      72   68   70   69   279   $290,400
T4   Jordan Spieth (USA)   67   67   78   67   279   $290,400

6   Hunter Mahan (USA)   68   68   72   72   280   $237,600
T7   Graeme McDowell (NIR) 71   71   72   67   281   $205,700
T7   Pat Perez (USA)      69   70   71   71   281   $205,700
T7   Tim Wilkinson (NZ)   67   72   69   73   281   $205,700
T10   Chesson Hadley (USA)   71   70   70   71   282   $165,000
T10   Richard Lee (USA)   65   72   72   73   282   $165,000

T10   Bryce Molder (USA)   72   71   69   70   282   $165,000

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage

Where next?
European Tour –
George Coetzee wins Joburg Open