Where Is The 2020 USPGA?

Where is next year's event being held?

Where Is The 2020 USPGA

The 2020 USPGA Championship will be held at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, California between the 14th and 17th of May.

Where Is The 2020 USPGA?

The world's best head to Bethpage Black (opens in new tab) for the 2019 PGA Championship in its new May slot on the golfing calendar. Several of the top players like Rory McIlroy, Tiger Woods and Dustin Johnson (opens in new tab) have all shown fantastic form this year already and each of them will look to add to their respective Major tallies.

But where will next years tournament be held?

Taking place between the 14th and 17th of May, the 2020 tournament will be held at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, California.

This will mark the first time the course has hosted a Major championship. It will also be the first time since 1998 at Sahalee in Washington that the USPGA Championship takes place in Western USA.

Established in 1925 and named after President Warren Harding, the course was designed by Willie Watson and Sam Whiting, the men responsible for designing the Lake Course at the nearby Olympic Club.

For a long period of time it quickly became a regular feature on the PGA Tour however dropped off in 1969 after the San Francisco Invitational moved away. Throughout the 1970's and 80's its condition deteriorated and the facilities dwindled to the point where it never looked likely that it would host a tournament again.

However a former United States Golf Association president, Sandy Tatum sought to restore the course to its former glory. Eventually restoration work was approved and over a 15-month period the course was lengthened to just under 7,200 yards from the championship tees.

A view of the 7th hole (Getty Images)

It reopened in 2003 and would once again host the world's best as the 2005 WGC-American Express Championship headed westward. In a fantastic tournament Tiger Woods outlasted John Daly in a sudden death playoff.

Over the next decade or so the course hosted the Presidents Cup in 2009 and then the PGA Champions Tour's season-ending Charles Schwab Cup Championship in 2010, 2011 and 2013.

Most recently, Harding Park hosted the 2015 WGC-Cadillac Match Play which was won by Rory McIlroy.

Expand USPGA Championship Prize Money 2019

USPGA Championship Prize Money

USPGA Championship Prize Money 2019

The prize pool for 2019 has been announced

Expand Bethpage Black Course Guide – USPGA Championship 2019

Bethpage Black Course Guide

Bethpage Black Course Guide – USPGA Championship 2019

Our guide to the 101st PGA Championship host…

Expand How To Watch The USPGA Championship 2019

How To Watch The USPGA Championship

How To Watch The USPGA Championship 2019

The USPGA Championship is back on Sky Sports…

The 2021 Championship will be held at Kiawah Island and then Trump National in 2022.

Don't forget to follow Golf Monthly on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for all the latest news from the PGA Championship.

Sam Tremlett
Senior Staff Writer

A golfer for most of his life, Sam is a Senior Staff Writer for Golf Monthly. 

Working with golf gear and equipment over the last five years, Sam has quickly built outstanding knowledge and expertise on golf products ranging from drivers, to balls, to shoes. 

He also loves to test golf apparel especially if it a piece that can be used just about anywhere!

As a result he has always been the one family and friends come to for buying advice and tips.

He is a graduate of Swansea University where he studied History and American Studies, and he has been a part of the Golf Monthly team since December 2017. He also previously worked for World Soccer and Rugby World magazines.

Sam now spends most of his time testing and looking after golf gear content for the website. He also oversees all Tour player content as well. 

Unfortunately, Sam is not a member of any club at the moment but regularly gets out on the golf course to keep up the facade of having a handicap of five.