Scott Harrington Disqualified From Valspar Championship

Scott Harrington Disqualified From Valspar Championship

Scott Harrington DQ
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Scott Harrington was disqualified from the Valspar Championship after signing an incorrect scorecard.

Scott Harrington Disqualified From Valspar Championship

Scott Harrington's struggles continued on Friday as the American signed for an incorrect scorecard during the second round of the Valspar Championship.

See more

The 40-year-old, who had shot a four-over-par first round 75, produced a one-over-par 72 in his second round, leaving the American six shots back of the one-under-par cut line.

Harrington wasn't the only player that was caught out at the Valspar Championship with Jimmy Walker (opens in new tab) nearly joining Harrington with disqualification.

Walker, who was set to tee off at 7.39am, was still hitting balls on the range when a rules official notified him that he had one minute to get to the first tee. He arrived too late.

As a result, he had two strokes added to his score on the par-5 first hole, turning a par into a double-bogey 7. Had the American arrived more than five minutes late, he would have been immediately disqualified.

(opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

The Harrington incident isn't the first time that something like this has happened this season. At the Masters in April, Matthew Wolff was disqualified after he wrote down a score that was lower than the one he’d made at the 17th hole. (opens in new tab) Subsequently, he broke Rule 3.3b(3).

Rule 3.3b means that each hole score on the scorecard must be identifiable to the correct hole. So, if a marker enters the player’s front nine scores in the back nine boxes and the back nine scores in the front nine boxes, the scorecard will still be acceptable if the mistake is corrected by altering the hole numbers so that they go with the right score for each hole.

However, if this mistake is not corrected and, as a result, a hole score is lower than actually taken on that hole, the player is disqualified under Rule 3.3b(3).

Related: 7 Simple Golf Rules Mistakes

Matt Cradock
Staff Writer

Matt joined Golf Monthly in February 2021 covering weekend news, before also transitioning to equipment and testing. After freelancing for Golf Monthly and The PGA for 18 months, he was offered a full-time position at the company in October 2022 and continues to cover weekend news and social media, as well as help look after Golf Monthly’s many buyers’ guides and equipment reviews.


Taking up the game when he was just seven years of age, Matt made it into his county squad just a year later and continues to play the game at a high standard, with a handicap of around 2-4. To date, his best round came in 2016, where he shot a six-under-par 66 having been seven-under through nine holes. He currently plays at Witney Lakes in Oxfordshire and his favourite player is Rory McIlroy, despite nearly being struck by his second shot at the 17th during the 2015 BMW PGA Championship.


Matt’s current What’s In The Bag?

Driver: Honma TW747, 8.75°

Fairway Wood: TaylorMade Rocketballz Stage 2, 15°, 19°

Hybrid: Adams Super Hybrid, 22°

Irons: Mizuno MP54, 5-PW

Wedges: Cleveland 588 RTX 2.0 Tour Satin, 50°, 56°, 60°

Putter: Cleveland TFI 2135 Satin Cero

Ball: Titleist Pro V1x