PGA Championship Field 2022 - Southern Hills

The field for the year's second Major is almost confirmed

Tiger Woods plays a tee shot during a practice round before the 2022 PGA Championship
(Image credit: Getty Images)

A total of 156 players will compete in the second Major of the year, the PGA Championship, and we now know the identities of the players slated to tee it up at Southern Hills on 19 May.

Previous winners of the tournament have lifetime exemptions, meaning they’re automatically eligible. So, former champions including Brooks Koepka, who won back-to-back titles in 2018 and 2019, Collin Morikawa, who won in 2020, and Rory McIlroy, who took the title in 2012 and 2014, are appearing. That list also includes four-time winner Tiger Woods, who says he is a lot stronger following his comeback from injury at last month's Masters. 

One former winner who won't be appearing is last year's victor Phil Mickelson, who has withdrawn as his hiatus from the game continues. He's just one of several big names missing from the PGA Championship. Another player who misses out is Englishman Paul Casey, who has withdrawn due to injury and is out of action for his second Major of the year. Also, even though another high-profile player, Bryson DeChambeau, was hoping to compete, he withdrew due to injury on the eve of the tournament. 

Another way to qualify for the 2022 tournament was to win a PGA Tour event up to the final week before the action begins. Others were granted special exemptions per PGA of America. That includes all the players in the Top 100 of the Official World Golf Ranking on 9 May. The top 20 who competed in the PGA Professional Championship are also in the field. That Team of 20 includes winner Jesse Mueller, who will play in his second Major after he finished tied for 51st at the 2012 US Open.  

All 2021 Ryder Cup members who were in the top 100 of the Official World Golf Ranking on 9 May qualify. Meanwhile, the top 70 from the special money list on the PGA Tour from the 2021 AT&T Byron Nelson to the 2022 Wells Fargo Championship are in too. The winners of any other Majors over the last five years qualify. Finally, players outside the top 70 from the special money list qualified in order of position. 

Below is the list of players in the field.

PGA Championship Field 2022

  • Ancer, Abraham
  • Arnaus, Adria
  • Beach, Alex
  • Beem, Rich
  • Bekker, Oliver
  • Berger, Daniel
  • Bezuidenhout, Christiaan
  • Bingaman, Brandon
  • Bland, Richard
  • Block, Michael
  • Borchert, Matt
  • Bradley, Keegan
  • Brehm, Ryan
  • Burmester, Dean
  • Burns, Sam
  • Canter, Laurie
  • Cantlay, Patrick
  • Cejka, Alex
  • Champ, Cameron
  • Cink, Stewart
  • Collet, Tyler
  • Conners, Corey
  • Dahmen, Joel
  • Daly, John
  • Davis, Cam
  • Day, Jason
  • Dickinson, Paul
  • Dufner, Jason
  • Feenstra, Tim
  • Finau, Tony
  • Fitzpatrick, Matt
  • Fleetwood, Tommy
  • Fowler, Rickie
  • Fox, Ryan
  • Garcia, Sergio
  • Glover, Lucas
  • Gooch, Talor
  • Grace, Branden
  • Griffin, Lanto
  • Hadwin, Adam
  • Harding, Justin
  • Harman, Brian
  • Harrington, Padraig
  • Hatton, Tyrell
  • Henley, Russell
  • Herbert, Lucas
  • Hickok, Kramer
  • Higgo, Garrick
  • Higgs, Harry
  • Hoge, Tom
  • Hojgaard, Nicolai
  • Homa, Max
  • Horschel, Billy
  • Horsfield, Sam
  • Hoshino, Rikuya
  • Hossler, Beau
  • Hovland, Viktor
  • Hughes, Mackenzie
  • Hurt, Austin
  • Inamori, Yuki
  • Inglis, Colin
  • Ishee, Nic
  • Johnson, Dustin
  • Johnson, Zach
  • Jones, Jared
  • Jones, Matt
  • Kaewkanjana, Sadom
  • Kanaya, Takumi
  • Kaymer, Martin,
  • Kim, Bio
  • Kim, Chan
  • Kim, Joohyung
  • Kim, Si Woo
  • Kinoshita, Ryosuke
  • Kirk, Chris
  • Kisner, Kevin
  • Kizzire, Patton
  • Knox, Russell
  • Koepka, Brooks
  • Kokrak, Jason
  • Kozuma, Jinichiro
  • Kuchar, Matt
  • Lahiri, Anirban
  • Larrazabal, Pablo
  • Lee, KH
  • Lee, Min Woo
  • Leishman, Marc
  • List, Luke
  • Lowry, Shane
  • MacIntyre, Robert
  • Matsuyama, Hideki
  • McCarthy, Denny
  • McCarty, Sean
  • McIlroy, Rory
  • McNealy, Maverick
  • Mendoza, Kyle
  • Merritt, Troy
  • Micheel, Shaun
  • Mitchell, Keith
  • Molinari, Francesco
  • Morikawa, Collin
  • Mueller, Jesse
  • Munoz, Sebastian
  • Na, Kevin
  • Newman, Dylan
  • Niemann, Joaquin
  • Noren, Alex
  • Norris, Shaun
  • Oakley, Zac
  • Oosthuizen, Louis
  • Ortiz, Carlos
  • Palmer, Ryan
  • Pereira, Mito
  • Pieters, Thomas
  • Poulter, Ian
  • Power, Seamus
  • Pyne, Casey
  • Rahm, Jon
  • Ramey, Chad
  • Reed, Patrick
  • Riley, Davis
  • Rose, Justin
  • Schauffele, Xander
  • Scheffler, Scottie
  • Schenk, Adam
  • Schwartzel, Charl
  • Scott, Adam
  • Simpson, Webb
  • Smith, Cameron
  • Spaun, JJ
  • Spieth, Jordan
  • Stallings, Scott
  • Steele, Brendan
  • Stenson, Henrik
  • Straka, Sepp
  • Streelman, Kevin
  • Swafford, Hudson
  • Thomas, Justin
  • Tringale, Cameron
  • Van Rooyen, Erik
  • Van Tonder, Daniel
  • Varner III, Harold
  • Vegas, Jhonattan
  • Vermeer, Ryan
  • Warren, Shawn
  • Watson, Bubba
  • Westwood, Lee
  • Wiesberger, Bernd
  • Wise, Aaron
  • Wolff, Matthew
  • Woodland, Gary
  • Woods, Tiger
  • Worthington II, Wyatt
  • Yang, YE
  • Young, Cameron
  • Zaltoris, Will

Who Qualifies For The PGA Championship?

  • Each former PGA Champion.
  • The last five Masters winners.
  • The last five US Open winners.
  • The last five Open Championship winners.
  • The last three Players Championship winners.
  • The Senior PGA Champion.
  • The low 15 scorers and ties in the last PGA Championship.
  • The 20 low scorers in the previous PGA Professional Championship.
  • The top 70 in money standings on the PGA Tour (from a week before the previous year's PGA Championship to two weeks before this year's PGA Championship).
  • Players from the most recent US and European Ryder teams, as long as they're  in the top 100 of the Official World Golf Ranking as of 9 May.
  • Any tournament winner co-sponsored or sanctioned by the PGA Tour since the last PGA Championship.
  • The PGA of America can invite additional players not included in the categories listed above.
  • The total field is no more than 156 players. Players beneath 70th place in official money standings can also receive an invite.

Where will the 2022 PGA Championship be held?

Who won last year's PGA Championship?

Phil Mickelson won his second PGA Championship at Kiawah Island in South Carolina in 2021, becoming the oldest player to win a Major, aged 50. It was Mickelson's sixth Major win to date. However, Mickelson will not be defending his title in 2022.

Mike Hall
News Writer

Mike has over 25 years of experience in journalism, including writing on a range of sports throughout that time, such as golf, football and cricket. Now a freelance staff writer for Golf Monthly, he is dedicated to covering the game's most newsworthy stories. 

He has written hundreds of articles on the game, from features offering insights into how members of the public can play some of the world's most revered courses, to breaking news stories affecting everything from the PGA Tour and LIV Golf to developmental Tours and the amateur game. 

Mike grew up in East Yorkshire and began his career in journalism in 1997. He then moved to London in 2003 as his career flourished, and nowadays resides in New Brunswick, Canada, where he and his wife raise their young family less than a mile from his local course. 

Kevin Cook’s acclaimed 2007 biography, Tommy’s Honour, about golf’s founding father and son, remains one of his all-time favourite sports books.