Previous Winners of the WGC Cadillac Championship

Previous Winners of the WGC Cadillac Championship

World Golf Cadillac Championships
Dustin Johnson and Donald Trump pose with the Gene Sarazen Cup after winning the World Golf Championships-Cadillac Championship
(Image credit: Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)

With the 17th tournament going ahead this weekend we take a look back at some previous winners to lift the WGC Cadillac Championship. By James Taylor

Previous Winners of the WGC Cadillac Championship

In 2006, the tournament was known as the WGC American Express Championship, it was held at The Grove Golf Course in Hertfordshire, England.

Tiger Woods came out on top very comfortably after he secured a record aggregate score of 261 to win his fifth WGC-American Express Championship having also won in 99, 02, 03 and 2005.


Tiger Woods during the final round of the 2006 WGC American Express Championship held at the Grove Golf Club in Watford, Great Britain

A year later in 2007 the competition had changed names and also location, now known as the WGC-CA Championship.

Due to the new sponsor CA Technologies it was held at the Blue Monster Course at Doral Golf Resort and Spa in Florida.

Once again Tiger secured victory over the rest of the field to win the competition at 10 under par.


Tiger Woods on the 15th hole during the fourth and final round of the WGC-CA Championship 2007

Back in 2008, we finally saw a different golfer other than Tiger lift the trophy, this was Australian Geoff Ogilvy who was in first position or tied for first throughout the whole tournament.

He beat the likes of Jim Furyk, Retif Goosen and Vijay Singh to finish the fours days at 17 under par in Florida.


Geoff Ogilvy of Australia tees off on the 17th hole on his way to winning the 2008 World Golf Championships CA Championship on a score of 17 under par

Phil Mickelson secured his first ever World Golf Championship title in 2009 when he thought off tough competition from Nick Watney to shoot a total of 19 under par. Watney could only produce a total score of 18 under par which gave Mickleson the victory.


Phil Mickelson on the 13th hole during the final round of the World Golf Championships-CA Championship

2010 was the last year of the sponsorship from CA Technologies and saw South African Ernie Els secure his second WGC win after victory in 2004.

Els was followed very closely by Charl Schwartzel but he could only manage a round of 70 on the final day and lost by 4 shots. Tiger Woods didn’t compete in this competition due to his indefinite break from golf.


Ernie Els of South Africa during the final round of the 2010 WGC-CA Championship

The first year of the new sponsor now known as the WGC-Cadillac Championship in 2011 went to American Nick Watney.

Watney who come up as a close runner up to Mickleson in 09 made no mistakes this time as he carded a final round of 67 to give himself a total of 16 under par to beat fellow American Dustin Johnson.


Nick Watney lines up a putt during the final round of the 2011 WGC- Cadillac Championship at the TPC Blue Monster at the Doral Golf Resort and Spa

The first and only Englishman to win this Championship is Justin Rose back in 2012.

Rose was only in first position when he completed the final day but that is all that matters.

Bubba Watson was looking certain for victory but a nightmare final round of 74 allowed Justin to gain victory by one shot.

However, Bubba went on to win the Masters later that month.


Justin Rose plays his tee shot at the par 4, 16th hole during the final round of the World Golf Championship Cadillac Championship

The return of Tiger Woods winning at this tournament came in 2013 when he played some excellent golf with a highest round of 71 for the four days and gave himself a two shot advantage over runner up Steve Stricker.

This gave Woods his seventh victory for this event and it would be his last up to now.


Tiger Woods hits his approach shot on the tenth hole during the final round of the World Golf Championships-Cadillac Championship

In 2014 Patrick Reed won his first ever WGC event at the age of just 23 which also saw him go down as the youngest champion.

It was the 15th WGC Cadillac tournament and was held at the newly named Trump National Doral in Florida.

This tournament for Reed certainly had a big part to play for him making the American’s Ryder Cup side in 2014.


Patrick Reed waits in a bunker shot on the 17th hole during the final round of the World Golf Championships-Cadillac Championship

Last years title went to Dustin Johnson who shot a total of nine under par to win the championship by one shot from J.B Holmes.

Both men made a hole in one on the par-3 4th within the space of 20 minutes.

Holmes shot a final round of 75 and allowed Johnson to win his first WGC Championship.


Dustin Johnson of the United States reacts to a missed birdie on the sixteenth hole during the final round of the World Golf Championships-Cadillac Championship

















The leading website from the world’s oldest golf magazine, we’re the go-to destination for amateur and keen golfers alike who are keen to up their golfing game. As well as expert course reviews, news and tips to improve your handicap our golf-focused travel content will help you pair teeing off with your travels in some of the best destinations around the globe.