Patrick Reed Accused Of Cheating After Two-Stroke Penalty

The American was handed a two-stroke penalty for improving his lie in a waste area at the Hero World Challenge

Patrick Reed Accused Of Cheating After Two-Stroke Penalty

The American was handed a two-stroke penalty for improving his lie in a waste area at the Hero World Challenge

Patrick Reed Accused Of Cheating After Two-Stroke Penalty

Patrick Reed was penalised two strokes after his third round at the Hero World Challenge for improving his lie in a waste area.

Reed was seen on TV sweeping sand away from his ball on two separate practice swings, with the video going viral on social media.

The 2018 Masters champion was leading by two at the time of the incident on the par-5 11th at Albany in the Bahamas.

The penalty ultimately cost him a chance at the tournament, as a day later he finished two behind winner Henrik Stenson.

Watch the incident below via the PGA Tour:

See more

The 29-year-old broke Rule 8.1a4, which states that golfers cannot "Remove or press down sand or loose soil" to improve the conditions affecting the stroke.

Reed accepted his penalty and blamed it on the camera angle.

“It was in a full footprint and I felt my club was that far behind the ball when I was taking a practice swing,” Reed said after his round.

“It was obviously hitting a bit of sand, though I didn’t feel any drag.

“But, when they brought it up to me [on the TV], it definitely did drag some of the sand and, because of that, it’s considered a two-shot penalty. I didn’t feel like it would have affected my lie. I think with a different camera angle they would have saw it was not improving the lie as I was far enough away from the golf ball.

“I don’t ever put the club directly behind the ball in a situation like that as I am scared of it moving. Intent is a big part, but with only one camera angle it is a 50-50 battle when you are being assessed for anything like that.

“I told them there was no intent and it was far enough away from the ball, but they didn’t have another camera angle to show that and they felt it might have been improving the lie.”

PGA Tour rules official Slugger White confirmed Reed's penalty and said that 'intent' was not taken into account and also said that Reed "could not have been more of a gentleman."

“You could see the path of the sand come away on two different occasions,” White told reporters.

“He did it the first time, put the club down again and did it another time. Intent would not matter here."

Reed has been getting a hard time on social media from fans as well as his fellow pros.

"If you make a mistake maybe once, you could maybe understand but to give a bit of a bulls**t response like the camera angle ... that's pretty up there," Cameron Smith told the Australian Associated Press.

"I don't have any sympathy for anyone that cheats. I hope the crowd absolutely gives it to not only him, but everyone (on the American Presidents Cup team) next week."

Eddie Pepperell tweeted, "What the f--- were you thinking?!"

Solheim Cup star Anne van Dam wrote, "This is absolutely insane.. this does not belong on any professional tour.."

European StaySure Tour Pro Gary Evans was also unimpressed by Reed's actions...

See more

Let us know your thoughts on the incident on our social media channels.

For all the latest golf news, check the Golf Monthly website and follow our social media channels @golfmonthlymagazine on Facebook and @golfmonthly on Twitter and Instagram

Elliott Heath
News Editor

Elliott Heath is our News Editor and has been with Golf Monthly since early 2016 after graduating with a degree in Sports Journalism. He manages the Golf Monthly news team as well as our large Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages. He covered the 2022 Masters from Augusta National as well as five Open Championships on-site including the 150th at St Andrews. His first Open was in 2017 at Royal Birkdale, when he walked inside the ropes with Jordan Spieth during the Texan's memorable Claret Jug triumph. He has played 35 of our Top 100 golf courses, with his favourites being both Sunningdales, Woodhall Spa, Western Gailes, Old Head and Turnberry. He has been obsessed with the sport since the age of 8 and currently plays off of a six handicap. His golfing highlights are making albatross on the 9th hole on the Hotchkin Course at Woodhall Spa, shooting an under-par round, playing in the Aramco Team Series on the Ladies European Tour and making his one and only hole-in-one at the age of 15 - a long time ago now!

Elliott is currently playing:

Driver: Titleist TSR4

3 wood: Titleist TSi2

Hybrids: Titleist 816 H1

Irons: Mizuno MP5 5-PW

Wedges: Cleveland RTX ZipCore 50, 54, 58

Putter: Odyssey White Hot OG #5

Ball: Srixon Z Star XV