Lexi Thompson Penalised Four Strokes To Lose Major

The American birdied three of her final six holes but lost in a playoff

Lexi Thompson Penalised Four Strokes To Lose Major
(Image credit: Getty Images)

The American was penalised four shots midway through her final round after a TV Viewer emailed in to say that she incorrectly marked her ball on a green the previous day

Lexi Thompson Penalised Four Strokes To Lose Major

A heartbroken Lexi Thompson had her second major title taken away from her mid-round when a TV viewer got in touch about a possible rules discrepancy the previous day.

It was deemed that Thompson, 22, had marked her ball on a two-footer on the 17th in the third round and replaced it around an inch away.

Related: How social media reacted to Lexi Thompson's penalty

She was penalised two strokes for this, and two strokes for then signing for a wrong scorecard.

https://www.facebook.com/GolfChannel/videos/vb.42809541675/10154552771051676/?type=3&theater

Related: Proposed changes to the Rules of Golf from 2019

Thompson was two strokes clear after 12 holes before LPGA Rules Official Sue Witters told her the news on the 13th tee.

The 22-year-old said, "Is this a joke?". It wasn't.

To her credit, Lexi birdied three of her closing six holes to reach a playoff, and even had a 20 footer for eagle on the last for what would have been a sensational victory.

(opens in new tab)

A photo posted by on

She eventually settled for birdie and lost out to Korea's Ryu So Yeon on the first extra playoff hole who now has won two major titles.

Lexi still had time for the fans after her round as she tearfully signed autographs and posed for pictures.

Related: Rules of Golf changes for 2019...Are the proposals good for the game?

The LPGA released this statement:

'On Sunday afternoon, the LPGA received an email from a television viewer, saying that Lexi Thompson did not properly replace her ball prior to putting out on the 17th hole during Saturday's third round of the ANA Inspiration. The claim was quickly investigated by LPGA Rules officials.

After a full review, it was determinded that Thompson breached Rule 20-7c (Playing From Wrong Place), and received a two-stroke penalty. She incurred an additional two-stroke penalty under Rule 6-6d for returning an incorrect scorecard in round three. She was immediately notified of the breach by LPGA Rules Committee in between holes 12 and 13 of the final round.'

Speaking to the Golf Channel, Lexi Thompson said, "It is unfortunate with what happened, I did not mean that at all, I had no idea that I did it.

Related: Golf Monthly Masters homepage

"I had to regroup myself, my caddie helped me out tremendously, we have a great relationship. I tried to gather myself and I made a great putt at 13.

"But it's all to the fans, they helped me get through the rest of the round and I thank them a lot.

"I learned a lot about myself and how much I have in me. I wasn't expecting what happened today to happen and I will learn from it."

Elliott Heath
Senior Staff Writer

Elliott Heath is our Senior Staff Writer and has been with Golf Monthly since early 2016 after graduating with a degree in Sports Journalism. He manages the Golf Monthly news, features, courses and travel sections as well as our large Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages. Elliott has interviewed some huge names in the golf world including Sergio Garcia, Thomas Bjorn, Bernd Wiesberger and Scotty Cameron as well as a number of professionals on the DP World and PGA Tours. He covered the 2022 Masters from Augusta National as well as four Open Championships on-site including the 150th at St Andrews. He has played 35 of our Top 100 golf courses, with his favourites being both Sunningdales, Woodhall Spa, Old Head and Turnberry. He has been obsessed with the sport since the age of 8 and currently plays at West Byfleet Golf Club in Surrey, where his handicap index floats anywhere between 2-6. His golfing highlights are making albatross on the 9th hole on the Hotchkin Course at Woodhall Spa, shooting an under-par round, playing in the Aramco Team Series on the Ladies European Tour and making his one and only hole-in-one at the age of 15 - a long time ago now!


Elliott is currently playing:


Driver: Titleist TSR4

3 wood: TaylorMade SIM2 Max

Hybrid: TaylorMade SIM Max

Irons: Mizuno MP5 4-PW

Wedges: Cleveland RTX ZipCore 50, 54, 58

Putter: Odyssey White Hot OG #5

Ball: Titleist Pro V1x