Eddie Pepperell On Disappointing DQ: "A Fair Distance Away From Common Sense"

The Englishman was disqualified from the Qatar Masters after signing for a wrong score

Eddie Pepperell On Disappointing DQ: "A Fair Distance Away From Common Sense"
(Image credit: Getty Images)

The Englishman was disqualified from the Qatar Masters after signing for a wrong score

Eddie Pepperell On Disappointing DQ: "A Fair Distance Away From Common Sense"

Eddie Pepperell wasn't even going to play at the Qatar Masters this week, and he probably now wishes that he didn't make the long trip to the Middle East.

The Englishman pulled out of last week's Oman Open due to coronavirus fears but then decided to tee it up in Qatar to attempt to make it into the WGC-Match Play and then The Masters.

The 2018 Qatar Masters winner ended up being disqualified following his first round after signing for the wrong score.

Pepperell revealed the reasons why he was DQ'd on Twitter, calling it "disappointing" and "a fair distance away from common sense."

That's because he shot 71 and signed for a 71, except two holes were marked down incorrectly according to the Englishman.

"FYI- My DQ today wasn’t due to me running out of balls, or hitting anyone, instead, I signed for a wrong score," Pepperell wrote in a series of Tweets.

See more

"My total, 71, was correct and I indeed signed for that. However, my partner had me down for a 5 on one hole where I made a 6, and a 4 on another, where I made 3...

"I picked him up on it and I changed the card to reflect the fact I actually made a 6 on hole 11 as opposed to a 5, and a 3 on hole 16 as opposed to a 4. I then however mistakenly changed the 17th hole, not the 16th hole on my scorecard, and handed it in...

Pepperell actually made a 3 on the 16th and a 4 on the 17th

"Therefore this meant I was disqualified. Quite disappointing as I actually took the time to change the original error, only to make a costlier one myself. I asked the referee if this had any bearing on my disqualification but it didn’t...

"The rules are the rules and I 100% accept that, but I can’t help feeling that this particular way of disqualification is a fair distance away from common sense, and that’s also disappointing. I enjoyed the course however and hopefully next time I’ll do a better job".

For all the latest golf news, check the Golf Monthly website and follow our social media channels @golfmonthlymagazine on Facebook and @golfmonthly on Twitter and Instagram

Elliott Heath
Senior Staff Writer

Elliott Heath is our Senior Staff Writer and has been with Golf Monthly since early 2016. He graduated in Sports Journalism in 2016 and currently manages the Golf Monthly news, courses and travel sections as well as our large Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages. Elliott has interviewed some huge names in the golf world including Sergio Garcia, Thomas Bjorn, Bernd Wiesberger and Scotty Cameron as well as a number of professionals on the DP World and PGA Tours. He has also covered the 2022 Masters from Augusta National as well as three Open Championships including at Carnoustie in 2018 when he was inside the ropes with Tiger Woods. He has played 31 of our Top 100 golf courses, with his favourites being both Sunningdales, Woodhall Spa, Old Head and Alwoodley. He currently plays at West Byfleet Golf Club in Surrey, where his handicap index floats anywhere between 4-6. His golfing highlight is making albatross on the 9th hole on the Hotchkin Course at Woodhall Spa, and he has made one hole-in-one.


Elliott is currently playing:


Driver: Honma TR20

3 wood: TaylorMade SIM2 Max

2 iron: Mizuno MP-18 MMC Fli-Hi

Irons: Mizuno MP5 4-PW

Wedges: Cleveland RTX ZipCore 50, 54, 58

Putter: Odyssey White Hot OG #5

Ball: Titleist Pro V1x