Spain’s Alejandro Cañizares completed a dominant victory in the Trophée Hassan II at Golf du Palais Royal in Morocco. He finished five shots clear of England’s Andy Sullivan.

Cañizares led from the off, with a sparkling opening round of 62. He was never really threatened through the final round and would have won by a greater margin had he not slipped up on the home hole. A piece of bad luck put him in an awkward position off the green and he took four shots to get down, closing with a double-bogey six.

Still, it was a comprehensive performance and one that earned the Spaniard his second European Tour title, eight years after his first at the 2006 Russian Open.

“It’s been a long time since the last win,” he said. “It felt like it was never coming but this week I played great, some of the best golf of my career. I hit good shot after good shot and kept my focus.”

England’s Andy Sullivan produced a, best of the day, final round of 63 to surge up the leaderboard and claim second place on his own.

Another Englishman Seve Benson birdied the 18th hole to climb into a share of third place with Magnus Carlsson of Sweden.

It was a great week for English players with no less than six of them finishing in the top-10. The others were: Richard Bland in a tie for fifth and David Horsey, Tom Lewis and Paul Waring – tied for eighth.

Trophée Hassan II
Golf du Palais Royal, Agadir, Morocco
Mar 13-16, purse €1,500,000, par 72

1   Alejandro Cañizares (Esp) 62   68   69   70   269   €250,000
2   Andy Sullivan (Eng)   66   73   72   63   274   €166,660
T3   Seve Benson (Eng)   63   68   74   71   276   €84,450
T3   Magnus Carlsson (Swe)   65   71   72   68   276   €84,450
T5   Richard Bland (Eng)   69   70   70   68   277   €53,700
T5   Rafa Cabrera-Bello (Esp) 68   67   75   67   277   €53,700
T5   Wade Ormsby (Aus)   68   71   70   68   277   €53,700
T8   David Horsey (Eng)   72   64   72   70   278   €33,700
T8   Tom Lewis (Eng)      69   74   70   65   278   €33,700
T8   Paul Waring (Eng)   72   69   67   70   278   €33,700

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage

Where next?
PGA Tour –
John Senden wins Valspar Championship