BMW PGA Championship Tee Times 2023 - First Round

Rory McIlroy will play the first two days at Wentworth alongside in-form Ryder Cup team-mates Viktor Hovland and Ludvig Aberg

Rory McIlroy and Viktor Hovland in action on the PGA Tour
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Rory McIlroy, Viktor Hovland and Ludvig Aberg will tee it up together in a blockbuster group at the BMW PGA Championship this week.

The trio of European Ryder Cup players are the headline group for the first two days, as all 12 of Luke Donald's side are scheduled to tee it up at Wentworth in the flagship event of the DP World Tour.

Shane Lowry returns to Surrey as defending champion and is in a three-ball with European team-mates Tommy Fleetwood and Sepp Straka. They are off at 9am, 20 minutes after McIlroy and co. 

The field will be made up of 144 players before the cut on Friday night, with World No.3 Jon Rahm also a big draw. He tees off at 12.40pm on Thursday with Nicolai Hojgaard and Tyrrell Hatton, who are also both in the team for Rome. 

McIlroy, who holds a commanding 2,350-point advantage over Rahm at the top of the DP World Tour season standings, tees off early at 8.40am on Thursday, where he is looking to put a disastrous final round behind him after he found the water four times at the Irish Open.

He has already won two Rolex Series titles this season, the Hero Dubai Desert Classic and Genesis Scottish Open, with this week's event the fourth of five Rolex Series events on the DP World Tour schedule.

Matt Fitzpatrick, Justin Rose and Robert MacIntyre complete the Ryder Cup players in the field in front of captain Donald, who is also playing alongside the Molinari brothers, Francesco and Edoardo, who are two of his five vice-captains.


Round One - BST 

  • 6.45am - Andy Sullivan, Craig Lee, Angel Hidalgo
  • 6.55am - Marcus Kinhult, Chase Hanna, Will Besseling
  • 7.05am - John Catlin, James Morrison, Jamie Donaldson
  • 7.15am - Zander Lombard, Joakim Lagergren, Julien Brun
  • 7.25am - Simon Forsstrom, Okie Strydom, Daan Huizing
  • 7.35am - Maximilian Kieffer, Matthew Baldwin, Richie Ramsay
  • 7.45am - Paul Waring, Oliver Bekker, Connor Syme
  • 7.55am - Ewen Ferguson, Sean Crocker, Rikuya Hoshino
  • 8.05am - Marcel Schneider, Richard Mansell, Sebastian Soderberg
  • 8.15am - Thomas Bjorn, Nicolas Colsaerts, Stephen Gallagher
  • 8.25am - Padraig Harrington, Victor Perez, Rasmus Hojgaard
  • 8.40am - Rory McIlroy, Ludvig Aberg, Viktor Hovland
  • 8.50am - Adam Scott, Tom Kim, Billy Horschel 
  • 9.00am - Tommy Fleetwood, Shane Lowry, Sepp Straka
  • 9.10am - Thorbjorn Olsen, Yannik Paul, Joost Luiten
  • 9.20am - Shubhankar Sharma, Matthew Southgate, Matthew Jordan
  • 9.30am - Luke Donald, Edoardo Molinari, Francesco Molinari 
  • 9.40am - Daniel Hillier, Oliver Wilson, Grant Forrest
  • 9.50am - Daniel Gavins, Adrian Otaegui, Dale Whitnell
  • 10.00am - Marc Warren, Victor Dubuisson, Jason Scrivener
  • 10.10am - Aaron Cockerill, Jeunghun Wang, Marcus Helligkilde
  • 10.20am - Jeremy Freiburghaus, Sebastian Garcia, Julien Guerrier
  • 10.35am - Jens Dantorp, Niklas Norgaard, Johannes Veerman
  • 10.45am - Nacho Elvira, Darius van Driel, Jeff Winther
  • 10.55am - Ryo Hisatsune, Justin Walters, Marcus Armitage 
  • 11.05am - Freddy Schott, Masahiro Kawamura, Lukas Nemecz
  • 11.15am - Nicolai von Dellingshausen, Tapio Pulkkanen, Fabrizio Zanotti
  • 11.25am - Gavin Green, Scott Jamieson, Hurly Long
  • 11.35am - David Law, Matthieu Pavon, Thomas Detry
  • 11.45am - Ashun Wu, Calum Hill, Antoine Rozner
  • 11.55am - Haotong Li, Guido Migliozzi, Tom McKibbin
  • 12.05pm - Eddie Pepperell, Romain Langasque, Ross Fisher
  • 12.15pm - Aaron Rai, Thriston Lawrence, Tom Hoge 
  • 12.30pm - Adrian Meronk, Danny Willett, Alexander Bjork
  • 12.40pm - Jon Rahm, Nicolai Hojgaard, Tyrrell Hatton
  • 12.50pm - Justin Rose, Matt Fitzpatrick, Robert MacIntyre
  • 1.00pm - Ryan Fox, Min Woo Lee, Pablo Larrazabal
  • 1.10pm - Vincent Norman, Jordan Smith, Jorge Campillo
  • 1.20pm - Marcel Siem, Dan Bradbury, Rafa Cabrera-Bello
  • 1.30pm - Daniel Brown, Todd Clements, Matt Wallace
  • 1.40pm - Callum Shinkwin, Kalle Samooja, Nick Bachem
  • 1.50pm - Sami Valimaki, Adri Arnaus, Alex Fitzpatrick
  • 2.00pm - Hennie Du Plessis, Louis De Jager, JC Ritchie
  • 2.10pm - Alexander Levy, Soren Kjeldsen, Santiago Tarrio
  • 2.20pm - Mikael Lindberg, Nathan Kimsey, Jazz Janewattananond,
  • 2.30pm - Oliver Hundeboll, Alexander Knappe, Robin Sciot-Siegrist
James Nursey

James Nursey is a freelance contributor to Golf Monthly after spending over 20 years as a sports reporter in newspapers. During a 17-year career with the Daily Mirror, he covered mainly football but reported from The Open annually and also covered a Ryder Cup and three US Opens. He counts a pre-tournament exclusive with Justin Rose at Merion in 2013 as one of his most memorable as the Englishman went on to win his first Major and later repeated much of the interview in his winner’s speech.  Now, after choosing to leave full-time work in newspapers, James, who is a keen single-figure player, is writing about golf more.  His favourite track is the Old Course after attending St Andrews University but has since played mainly at Edgbaston, where he is a member. James’ golfing highlights include a hole-in-one and previously winning the club championship and scratch knock-out at Edgbaston. He is also an active member of the Association of Golf Writers and Press Golfing Society, for whom he has represented in matches. But he is just as happy hitting balls or playing the odd hole with his young daughter at their local club Shrewsbury.

James is currently playing: 
Driver: Ping G400
3 wood: Ping i20
Hybrid: Ping i20
Irons: Ping i500 4-SW
Wedges: Ping Glide forged 50, 56
Putter: TaylorMade Spider Tour
Ball: Titleist ProVIx