Winners of the PGA Championship at Oak Hill

The winners from the two times the PGA Championship has been held at Oak Hill before, 1980 and 2003.

micheel pga

Oak Hill County Club has only hosted the PGA Championship twice before this year, in 2003 and 1980.

Jack Nicklaus won his 5th PGA Championship in 1980 at Oakhill, however, in 2003 it was the first PGA Championship and only major Shaun Micheel has won.

1980- Jack Nicklaus won by a record seven strokes which remained until 2012, when Rory McIlroy won by eight. After 36 holes, Nicklaus was at 1 under par, a stroke behind the leader, Gil Morgan.

The American then fired a 66 (-4) on Saturday to move to -5 and had a three shot lead over Lon Hinkle. On the final day, Morgan and Hinkle dropped off and Nicklaus carded a one under par to finish six under par.

This victory was Jack Nicklaus' 17th of his 18 major titles, and his second of the year after winning the US Open two months earlier.

2003- Shaun Micheel won his only major in 2003 at Oak Hill. At the end of the first round, Micheel was three shots off the leader, Mickelson who was on four under par.

The American finished the second round 2 shots clear at the top of the leader board and was able to stay there until the end, to the surprise of many, to win his first major.

The leading website from the world’s oldest golf magazine, we’re the go-to destination for amateur and keen golfers alike who are keen to up their golfing game. As well as expert course reviews, news and tips to improve your handicap our golf-focused travel content will help you pair teeing off with your travels in some of the best destinations around the globe.