Sean O’Hair defeated Kris Blanks at the first hole of a sudden-death playoff at Shaughnessy Golf and Country Club to win the PGA Tour’s RBC Canadian Open.

O’Hair had been enduring the worst season of his professional career with 10 missed cuts in 17 starts on the PGA Tour in 2011. He played terribly in the Wednesday pro-am at Shaughnessy and, at that point, would not have believed he would have been lofting the Canadian Open trophy just four days later.

“Wednesday night was my worst point of the whole year,” he said. “I was lost on Wednesday so, to be sitting here now, I just really appreciate this win.”

Around an extremely challenging course, O’Hair began the final round three strokes off the pace but he fired an excellent closing round of two-under-par 68. That was good enough to force a playoff with his countryman Kris Blanks.

The first extra hole was the 472-yard 18th and both men drove into the thick rough. O’Hair blasted out onto the fairway short of the green and Blanks found the greenside bunker. O”Hair’s pitch ended on the putting surface but Blanks couldn’t hold the green from the bunker. He chipped up to some five feet, then faced a putt to extend the playoff after O’Hair had secured a five.

Blanks’ putt lipped out and the title went to O’Hair.

“The more I think about it, the more I’ll get upset at the shots I gave away,” said Blanks.

Andres Romero of Argentina finished alone in third. He’d tied the lead after five birdies in seven holes from the 10th, but he was unable to par the testing last and came up one stroke shy of joining O’Hair and Blanks in the playoff.

Local player Adam Hadwin earned his spot in the tournament through a sponsor’s exemption and he made the very most of it, finishing alone in fourth and picking up a cheque for $228,000.

RBC Canadian Open
Shaughnessy Golf & Country Club, Vancouver, Canada
Jul 21-24, purse $5,200,000, par 70

1   Sean O’Hair (USA)   69   73   66   68   276   $936,000
2   Kris Blanks (USA)      67   71   69   69   276   $561,600
3   Andres Romero (Arg)   72   68   67   70   277   $353,600
T4   Adam Hadwin (Can)   72   66   68   72   278   $228,800
T4   Geoff Ogilvy (Aus)   70   68   70   70   278   $228,800
T6   Woody Austin (USA)   68   75   68   68   279   $174,200
T6   Scott Piercy (USA)   70   70   70   69   279   $174,200

T6   Bo Van Pelt (USA)   68   72   65   74   279   $174,200
T9   John Daly (USA)      70   71   67   72   280   $140,400
T9   Spencer Levin (USA)   73   66   72   69   280   $140,400
T9   Charl Schwartzel (RSA)   71   67   73   69   280   $140,400
T9   Patrick Cantlay (USA)   72   71   68   69   280   AMATEUR

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage only

Where next?
European Tour:
Alex Noren wins Nordea Masters