Rory McIlroy Elected PGA Tour Player Advisory Council Chairman

The four-time Major winner is the new Chairman of the PGA Tour's Player Advisory Council

Rory McIlroy Elected PGA Tour Player Advisory Council Chairman
(Image credit: getty images)

The four-time Major winner has been voted as the new Chairman of the PGA Tour's Player Advisory Council

Rory McIlroy Elected PGA Tour Player Advisory Council Chairman

Rory McIlroy has been elected as Chairman of the PGA Tour's Player Advisory Council (PAC) for 2021 by his peers.

The 16-member PAC advises and consults with the PGA Tour Policy Board (Board of Directors) and Commissioner Jay Monahan on issues affecting the Tour.

Rory McIlroy, who beat Russell Knox and Kevin Streelman in the vote, will succeed Jordan Spieth as a Player Director on the PGA Tour Policy Board next year, serving a three-year term (2022-24).

He will join James Hahn (2020-22), Charley Hoffman (2021-23) and Kevin Kisner (2020-22) on the Policy Board.

McIlroy has been playing the PGA Tour since 2010 and has gone on to win 18 times including four Majors.

Related: What is Rory McIlroy's net worth?

He has also won the FedEx Cup twice as well as the Tour's flagship event, The Players Championship.

When he assumes his role of Player Director in 2022, McIlroy will become the first non-American to serve on the Policy Board, which dates back to the Tour’s first season in 1969.

“I’ve enjoyed being on the PAC the last couple of years and I think that with what’s happening between the PGA Tour and the European Tour I have the ear of the PGA Tour and I have the ear of the European Tour,” McIlroy said at the Farmers Insurance Open.

“I just feel like I’ve been around a long time and I feel I can maybe help facilitate things and maybe guide things in a certain direction for what I think is better for everyone.”

2021 Player Advisory Council

Ryan Armour Paul Casey David Hearn Harry Higgs Billy Horschel Zach Johnson Russell Knox Anirban Lahiri Peter Malnati Rory McIlroy (Chairman) Ryan Palmer Jon Rahm Kevin Streelman Justin Thomas Harold Varner III Johnson Wagner

Related: McIlroy: 'Distance Insights Report a huge waste of time and money'

Elliott Heath
News Editor

Elliott Heath is our News Editor and has been with Golf Monthly since early 2016 after graduating with a degree in Sports Journalism. He manages the Golf Monthly news team as well as our large Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages. He covered the 2022 Masters from Augusta National as well as five Open Championships on-site including the 150th at St Andrews. His first Open was in 2017 at Royal Birkdale, when he walked inside the ropes with Jordan Spieth during the Texan's memorable Claret Jug triumph. He has played 35 of our Top 100 golf courses, with his favourites being both Sunningdales, Woodhall Spa, Western Gailes, Old Head and Turnberry. He has been obsessed with the sport since the age of 8 and currently plays off of a six handicap. His golfing highlights are making albatross on the 9th hole on the Hotchkin Course at Woodhall Spa, shooting an under-par round, playing in the Aramco Team Series on the Ladies European Tour and making his one and only hole-in-one at the age of 15 - a long time ago now!

Elliott is currently playing:

Driver: Titleist TSR4

3 wood: Titleist TSi2

Hybrids: Titleist 816 H1

Irons: Mizuno MP5 5-PW

Wedges: Cleveland RTX ZipCore 50, 54, 58

Putter: Odyssey White Hot OG #5

Ball: Srixon Z Star XV