WATCH: Tiger Woods Avoids Penalty After 'Scooping' Ball

Woods appeared to have gotten away with a rules breach during the Hero World Challenge

(Image credit: DC)

The 14-time major winner appeared to scoop his ball out of a bush during the Hero World Challenge

Tiger Woods Avoids Penalty After 'Scooping' Ball

Were this a major week, Tiger Woods may have been the centre of a huge rules controversy.

That's because the 14-time major winner managed to avoid a penalty after scooping his ball out of a bush on the final hole during the second round of the Hero World Challenge.

Woods found himself down the right of the finishing hole with a tricky lie in a bush, needing to kneel down and grip down the shaft to chip it out.

He took a short and quick swipe at the ball and managed to get it back towards the fairway, although slow motion cameras revealed that the ball had stayed on the face for some time.

Watch the incident below -

See more

The 14-time major winner got away without penalty due to not knowing he had double-hit or scooped the ball at the time.

Related: 2019/20 UK and Ireland Top 100 Courses Revealed

"I didn't feel like I violated any rules," Woods said after his round.

"I was trying to play a shot but the rules committee said they may have been a violation. I didn't feel like I hit it twice but under super slow-mo you could see I made contact twice."

The PGA Tour's vice president of rules and competitions Mark Russell said, "We had to look at high-speed, slow-motion video to determine that the ball probably did stay on the clubface a little too long. But there was no way he could've known that.

Related: WATCH: John Senden's driver snaps mid-swing

"Basically, if the player didn't know he did that [double-hit it] and the only way you can tell is by using this type of slow-motion technology, he's exempt from the rules, so there's no penalty there."

Related: 5 things to know about the new Golf Rules 2019

Coincidentally, from 1st Jan 2019, double-hits will count as 'one stroke', due to the new golf rules instead of two.

He eventually double-bogeyed the 18th and is two under after 36 holes.

Jon Rahm and Henrik Stenson share the halfway lead at 10 under after a bogey-free nine under par 63 from Rahm and a 66 from Stenson.

For all the latest golf news, check the Golf Monthly website and follow our social media channels

Elliott Heath
News Editor

Elliott Heath is our News Editor and has been with Golf Monthly since early 2016 after graduating with a degree in Sports Journalism. He manages the Golf Monthly news, features, courses and travel sections as well as our large Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages. He covered the 2022 Masters from Augusta National as well as four Open Championships on-site including the 150th at St Andrews. His first Open was in 2017 at Royal Birkdale, when he walked inside the ropes with Jordan Spieth during the Texan's memorable Claret Jug triumph. He has played 35 of our Top 100 golf courses, with his favourites being both Sunningdales, Woodhall Spa, Western Gailes, Old Head and Turnberry. He has been obsessed with the sport since the age of 8 and currently plays at West Byfleet Golf Club in Surrey, where his handicap index floats anywhere between 2-5. His golfing highlights are making albatross on the 9th hole on the Hotchkin Course at Woodhall Spa, shooting an under-par round, playing in the Aramco Team Series on the Ladies European Tour and making his one and only hole-in-one at the age of 15 - a long time ago now!


Elliott is currently playing:


Driver: Titleist TSR4

3 wood: Titleist TSi2 HL

Irons: Mizuno MP-H4 3-iron, Mizuno MP5 4-PW

Wedges: Cleveland RTX ZipCore 50, 54, 58

Putter: Odyssey White Hot OG #5