Seong-Hyeon Kim Addressed Penalty After Ball Takes 30 Seconds To Fall

Kim Overhanging Penalty
Credit: Twitter - @PGATOUR
(Image credit: PGATOUR)

Seong-Hyong Kim was addressed a one-shot penalty at the 72nd hole of the CJ Cup, after his golf ball dangled on the edge of the hole for 30 seconds before falling in.

Seong-Hyeon Kim Addressed Penalty After Ball Takes 30 Seconds To Fall

This season we have seen many peculiar and controversial incidents of golf balls overhanging the hole.

At this year's Solheim Cup for example, Nelly Korda left her putt overhanging the hole (opens in new tab). As the American sunk to her knees, her opponent, Madelene Sagstrom (opens in new tab), threw the ball back to her.

As play moved on, a rules official (Missy Jones) came over to the players and stated that Korda’s (opens in new tab) ball should have been given 10 seconds on the lip to see if it would drop.

Since Sagstrom had only given it seven seconds, it meant that she had broken rule 13.3a and the hole was given to the American team.

At this weekend's CJ Cup (opens in new tab), Seong-Hyeon Kim faced a relatively short birdie putt. However, as the ball miraculously 360'd around the cup, it came to rest on the lip, eventually falling in a near 30 seconds later.

Check out the video here.

See more

Obviously, the incident was questioned, as most felt it was well over the allotted amount of time for a putt.

After walking to the scorers tent, Kim was eventually assessed a one-stroke penalty, with the South Korean breaching rule 13.3a of the Rules of Golf (opens in new tab).

The rule states that “The player is allowed a reasonable time to reach the hole and ten more seconds to wait to see whether the ball will fall into the hole. If the ball falls into the hole in this waiting time, the player has holed out with the previous stroke.

"If the ball does not fall into the hole in this waiting time: The ball is treated as being at rest. If the ball then falls into the hole before it is played, the player has holed out with the previous stroke, but gets one penalty stroke added to the score for the hole.”

Matt Cradock
Staff Writer

Matt joined Golf Monthly in February 2021 covering weekend news, before also transitioning to equipment and testing. After freelancing for Golf Monthly and The PGA for 18 months, he was offered a full-time position at the company in October 2022 and continues to cover weekend news and social media, as well as help look after Golf Monthly’s many buyers’ guides and equipment reviews.


Taking up the game when he was just seven years of age, Matt made it into his county squad just a year later and continues to play the game at a high standard, with a handicap of around 2-4. To date, his best round came in 2016, where he shot a six-under-par 66 having been seven-under through nine holes. He currently plays at Witney Lakes in Oxfordshire and his favourite player is Rory McIlroy, despite nearly being struck by his second shot at the 17th during the 2015 BMW PGA Championship.


Matt’s current What’s In The Bag?

Driver: Honma TW747, 8.75°

Fairway Wood: TaylorMade Rocketballz Stage 2, 15°, 19°

Hybrid: Adams Super Hybrid, 22°

Irons: Mizuno MP54, 5-PW

Wedges: Cleveland 588 RTX 2.0 Tour Satin, 50°, 56°, 60°

Putter: Cleveland TFI 2135 Satin Cero

Ball: Titleist Pro V1x