England’s Ian Poulter has won the UBS Hong Kong Open at Fanling by a single shot from his countryman Simon Dyson and Italian sensation Matteo Manassero. It was Poulter’s 10th European Tour victory.

The 34-year-old claimed the lead in the tournament with a scintillating second round of 60 and he maintained his position at the top of the leaderboard to the finish.

Poulter took a two-stroke lead into the final round with Northern Ireland’s Graeme McDowell in second place. Three birdies on the front nine helped the Englishman keep his nose in front, then a spectacular eagle at the par-5 13th all but secured his victory.

“It feels more than good,” said Poulter. “It was nice, I felt calm all day. I felt as if I just kept going around my business, I thought if I made a few birdie putts that would be enough to win – it’s very pleasing to do so.”

With a final round of 62, Italian teenager Matteo Manassero catapulted himself into a share of second with Simon Dyson. The Englishman came out firing on Sunday with a front nine of 30. But the birdies dried up on the run for home and he came up just one stroke shy.

“I’m disappointed,” he said. “I played great today, I just didn’t hole a thing on the back nine. It was still a great week though.”

With the win, Poulter has climbed to fifth on the Race to Dubai and has moved into the top-10 on the Official World Golf Ranking.

Graeme McDowell ended the week in fifth spot and picked up a cheque for €76,689. It means he’s reduced Martin Kaymer’s lead at the top of the Race to Dubai standings to just €290,000.

UBS Hong Kong Open
Hong Kong GC, Hong Kong
Nov 18-21, purse €1,800,000, par 70

1   Ian Poulter (Eng)      67   60   64   67   258   €301,447
T2   Simon Dyson (Eng)   64   65   65   65   259   €157,094   
T2   Matteo Manassero (Ita)   67   63   67   62   259   €157,094
4   Anthony Kang (USA)   67   61   67   65   260   €90,436
5   Graeme McDowell (NIR) 65   65   63   68   261   €76,689
6   Rory McIlroy (NIR)   63   66   66   67   262   €63,305
T7   Jamie Donaldson (Wal)   66   66   65   66   263   €46,665

T7   Gareth Maybin (NIR)   67   67   68   61   263   €43,665
T7   Jeev Milkha Singh (Ind)   63   67   66   67   263   €43,665

Note: Player in bold signifies Titleist ball usage only