Bo Van Pelt wins ISPS HANDA Perth International

Bo Van Pelt held off fellow American Jason Dufner to win the ISPS HANDA Perth International at Lake Karrinyup Country Club in Perth, Australia.

Bo Van Pelt wins ISPS HANDA

Bo Van Pelt held off fellow American Jason Dufner to win the ISPS HANDA Perth International at Lake Karrinyup Country Club in Perth, Australia.

Van Pelt closed with a four-under par 68 to finish on a four-round total of 16-under, good enough to win the tournament by two strokes.

The American took the lead by holing a monster putt across the final green in round three and he never relinquished it through round four.

He made an excellent birdie at the first and raced to the turn in just 32 strokes.

Dufner applied some pressure on the back nine however. He almost holed his approach to the 14th while Van Pelt three putted. At that stage the gap was reduced to a single stroke. But Van Pelt responded with a birdie at the 15th and held the ship steady as he sailed to victory.

"Jason and I had a great battle and played well," said Van Pelt. "It definitely got tight there at the end but luckily for me I came out on top. It was fun. That's why you practice - to give yourself a chance to win with nine holes to go."

Spain's Alejandro Canizares was third and the cheque for almost €100,000 moved him into the all-important top-60 on the Race to Dubai, crucial if he's to earn a start in the Dubai World Championship.

"The top five here gets me into Singapore which helps a lot," said Cañizares. "I didn't have that tournament before because of my ranking from last year, so I'm happy to be able to get there on my own merit. It helps me, gives me one more chance to consolidate in the top 60 and hopefully play in Dubai."

Paul Casey showed a welcome return to form. The Englishman closed with a 67 to finish the week in a tie for fifth. It was his first top-10 on the European Tour in 2012.

ISPS HANDA Perth International Lake Karrinyup Country Club, Perth, Australia Oct 18-21, purse €1,541,836, par 72 1   Bo Van Pelt (USA)   70   67   67   68   272   €256,585 2   Jason Dufner (USA)   71   67   67   69   274   €171,057 3   Alejandro Canizares (Esp) 65   73   71   68   277   €96,374 4   Michael Hendry (NZL)   65   73   72   69   279   €76,976 T5   Paul Casey (Eng)      67   75   71   67   280   €47,664 T5   Rhys Davies (Wal)   68   72   71   69   280   €47,664 T5   Emiliano Grillo (Arg)   66   67   73   74   280   €47,664 T5   David Howell (Eng)   71   68   70   71   280   €47,664 T5   Scott Jamieson (Sco)   72   71   69   68   280   €47,664

Note: Player score in bold signifies Titleist ball usage Where next? PGA Tour - Tommy Gainey wins McGladrey Classic

Fergus Bisset
Contributing Editor

Fergus is Golf Monthly's resident expert on the history of the game and has written extensively on that subject. He is a golf obsessive and 1-handicapper. Growing up in the North East of Scotland, golf runs through his veins and his passion for the sport was bolstered during his time at St Andrews university studying history. He went on to earn a post graduate diploma from the London School of Journalism. Fergus has worked for Golf Monthly since 2004 and has written two books on the game; "Great Golf Debates" together with Jezz Ellwood of Golf Monthly and the history section of "The Ultimate Golf Book" together with Neil Tappin , also of Golf Monthly. 

Fergus once shanked a ball from just over Granny Clark's Wynd on the 18th of the Old Course that struck the St Andrews Golf Club and rebounded into the Valley of Sin, from where he saved par. Who says there's no golfing god?