GB&Ireland win 2015 Walker Cup

Nigel Edwards captained the hosts to victory for the second time in four years

Cormac Sharvin celebrates with captain Nigel Edwards. Credit: Clint Hughes (Getty)

Nigel Edwards guided Great Britain & Ireland to success at Royal Lytham & St Annes GC

Great Britain & Ireland have won the 2015 Walker Cup, defeating their American rivals 16.5-9.5.

Nigel Edwards' team lead 7-5 heading into Sunday's foursomes and singles matches and held on to win the cup back from the Americans at Royal Lytham & St Annes.

Wins in the Sunday singles for England's Ashley Chesters and Jimmy Mullen and Northern Ireland's Cormac Sharvin guaranteed victory.

Chesters saw off Open Silver Medallist Jordan Niebrugge 3&1, with Mullen and Sharvin recording 3&2 and 4&3 wins respectively.

Paul Dunne, who co-lead the Open heading into this year's final round, halved his match against Maverick McNealy.

Edwards' team won three out of four of the Sunday foursomes earlier in the day, with Chesters and Mullen combining to beat Beau Hossler and Denny McCarthy 3&2.

Bryson DeChambeau and Robby Shelton saw off Jack Hume and Gavin Moynihan to win the Americans' only full point.

Dunne and Hurley beat Scott Harvey and Mike McCoy, with Sharvin and Jack MacDonald also claiming a point against Hunter Stewart and Lee McCoy.

Moynihan had been among the stars for the hosts on Saturday, winning both of the matches he had been involved in.

He partnered Hume to a 3&2 win over the McCoys and also won his singles match against Niebrugge, who finished four shots off a play-off spot at the Open.

WATCH: Niebrugge's Open success

The United States struggled in the foursomes on Saturday as well, with Hossler and McCarthy taking the only point.

Heading into the tournament, the visitors were defending the cup they'd won two years ago by 17-9, with the PGA Tour's Justin Thomas among the Americans in that winning side.

GB&Ireland have now won two of the last six editions, with Edwards leading the team in both successes.

GB&I Team: Paul Dunne, Ashley Chesters, Jimmy Mullen, Gavin Moynihan, Jack Hume, Jack MacDonald, Gary Hurley, Grant Forrest, Ewen Ferguson, Cormac Sharvin

United States Team: Hunter Stewart, Jordan Niebrugge, Maverick McNealy, Denny McCarthy, Mike McCoy, Beau Hossler, Scott Harvey, Lee McCoy, Robby Shelton, Bryson DeChambeau

Will Medlock graduated from UEA with a degree in Film and Television before completing a Masters in Sports Journalism at St Mary's in London. Will has had work published by The Independent and the Rugby Paper.