We take a look at the Lexi Thompson rules penalty that ended up costing her the first major title of the year and discuss who was to blame
The act of marking your golf ball should be one of the least contentious rules in the game. However, in the first women’s major of the golfing year, the ANA Inspiration, there was a Lexi Thompson rules penalty that has become golf’s latest rules-related controversy. During the third round, television pictures clearly showed that she did not replace her ball onto the same spot she had marked it from.
The Full Story: Lexi Thompson Penalised Four Strokes To Lose Major
The incident only came to light however when a viewer highlighted the issue and actions were taken during the following round. Two penalty shots were added for the original infringement and then an extra two were added as she had signed for a score higher than the one she had actually taken.
At the very least, it was a messy incident but was Lexi Thompson to blame or was she treated harshly by the inflexible nature of our rules.
Lexi Thompson Rules Penalty: GM View
There are two elements to what happened so it makes sense to deal with them separately. Firstly, the images show how, as she addresses the ball, she decides to bend down, mark it and replace it. The close-up view of what took place is fairly damning. The ball does not go back onto its original spot. Having seen it a few times, we don’t think this is a clear-cut case of either trying to move the ball closer to the hole or, as we think is the more likely theory, her moving the ball to the side to avoid a spike mark or imperfection. The close-up view makes probably makes it look worse than it was. It may have just been carelessness. Was she right to be penalised? Absolutely. Did she cheat? Only Lexi Thompson herself really knows the answer to that. The self-policing nature of golf, even at the highest level, will mean that golf will always face incidents like this. Did she purposefully break the rules? We think it is hard to say she definitely did.
The second element relates to the trial-by-TV aspect to this incident. The infringement only came to light once a TV viewer spotted it and raised the alarm. That she was only made aware of it half way through her final round, and as such was given an extra two-stroke penalty for signing for the wrong score the previous day is the second major sticking point. Was she harshly treated? Well, this rule was actually changed in 2015 to prevent players from being disqualified in this scenario. However, this incident still makes it look unfair. How can you be guilty of signing for a wrong score when you are unaware that you have broken a rule? Adding the original penalty seems fair enough but hitting her with an extra two shot penalty is incredibly harsh. With a new set of revisions to the Rules of Golf our for 2019, now seems like a good time to add that one to the list. Whatever happens, golf's ruling bodies will be taking note.
Get the Golf Monthly Newsletter
Tips on how to play better, latest equipment reviews, interviews with the biggest names and more.
In July 2023, Neil became just the 9th editor in Golf Monthly's 112-year history. Originally working with the best coaches in the UK to produce instruction content, he has also presented many Golf Monthly videos looking at all areas of the game from Tour player interviews to the rules of golf.
Throughout his time with the brand he has also covered equipment launches that date back well over a decade. He clearly remembers the launch of the Callaway and Nike square drivers as well as the white TaylorMade driver families, such as the RocketBallz! If you take a look at the Golf Monthly YouTube channel, you'll see his equipment videos dating back over a decade! He has also conducted 'What's In The Bag' interviews with many of the game's best players like Rory McIlroy, Dustin Johnson and Jon Rahm. Over the years, Neil has tested a vast array of products in each category and at drastically different price-points.
Neil is currently playing: Driver: TaylorMade Stealth 2 Plus Fairway Wood: Titleist TSR2 Hybrid: Titleist TS3 Irons (4-9): Mizuno JPX 919 Forged Wedges: Titleist Vokey SM7 46˚, 50˚, 54˚, 60˚ Putter: Odyssey Triple Track Ten Ball: Titleist Pro V1X
NFL And MLB Fans Given Chance To Play Golf 'Off The Top Deck' Of Their Favourite Stadiums
Upper Deck Golf is touring various sporting arenas across the United States and setting up an alternative driving range to give fans a unique golfing experience
By Jonny Leighfield Published
Meronk ‘Excited For The Next Chapter’ On PGA Tour As Day Reportedly Staying Put Amid Rumors
Speculation as to who will join LIV Golf has been rife of late, but it seems a few players are staying put on the PGA Tour
By Matt Cradock Published
How To Clean Golf Clubs And Grips
If you want to know how to clean golf clubs and grips, check out this step-by-step guide
By Sam Tremlett Published
In Praise Of Golfing In Winter
Fergus Bisset on why he enjoys playing golf through the winter months
By Fergus Bisset Published
'Why Do Golfers Only Wear One Glove?' You Asked Google And We've Got The Answer...
You asked Google and we've got the answer...
By Roderick Easdale Published
How To Regrip Golf Clubs
Knowing how to regrip golf clubs means you can afford to replace them as and when they need replacing
By Joe Ferguson Published
The 7 Scariest Shots in Golf
With Halloween creeping up, we have selected the 7 scariest shots in golf
By Neil Tappin Published
17 Ways To Tell You're Obsessed With Golf
The tell-tale signs that you are a true golf fanatic
By Roderick Easdale Published
10 Of The Best Arnold Palmer Quotes
Here we take a look at 10 of our favourite Arnold Palmer quotes
By Roderick Easdale Published
When Byron Nelson Was Golf’s Winning Machine
Byron Nelson enjoyed phenomenal golfing success in a relatively brief career. Between 1935 and 1946 he won 50 tournaments including 18 in a single season
By Fergus Bisset Last updated