We take a look at the numbers that have defined the tournament since its conception.

Sure, you know who won the USPGA Championship in 2014, but do you know who the youngest winner was?

You may know who the first German was to win the year’s final major, but do you know the greatest winning margin?

Below, we take a look at the all-important statistics ahead of the 2015 USPGA Championship at Whistling Straits.


1 – Rory McIlroy’s winning margin from Phil Mickelson last year at Valhalla.

4 – No other club has hosted the USPGA Championship more than Southern Hill Country Club (1970, 1982, 1994, 2007)

5 – The highest accumulation of USPGA Championship titles is five, with Walter Hagen and Jack Nicklaus both having completed the feat.

6 – The number of players to have defended their title – Jim Barnes (1916/1919 – the tournament wasn’t played between those years), Gene Sarazen (1922/1923), Walter Hagen (1924-1927), Leo Diegel (1928/1929), Denny Shute (1936/1937) and Tiger Woods (1999/2000 and 2006/2007)

8– The biggest winning margin since the tournament adopted the stroke play format, set by Rory McIlroy in 2012.

13 – There have been 13 play-offs in the history of the tournament, including three consecutive play-offs from 1977 to 1979.

14 – Number of water hazards at this year’s venue.


Watch our video on water hazard rules


20 – The age of the youngest winner, Gene Sarazen in 1922.

27 – Weight in lbs of the Wanamaker Trophy.

28 – The lowest nine-hole record belongs to Brad Faxon, who carded 28 in 1995.

48 – Age of the oldest winner, Julius Boros in 1968.

63 – The 18-hole record at the USPGA is 63 and has been shot 12 times before.

76 – Vijay Singh won the 2004 tournament with a score of 76. At +4, this is the highest final round by a USPGA Championship winner.

156 – There will be a maximum of 156 players.

265 – Lowest 72-hole record, shot by David Toms in 2001.

598 – The longest hole at Whistling Straits – the par 5 5th.

1916 – The year the first USPGA Championship was played.

1958 – The tournament turned into a stroke play event, having been match play from its conception.

1998 – Whistling Straits was founded 17 years ago.

2009 – The only year in which an Asian player (Yang Yong-eun) has won the tournament

7500 – The average green size in square feet of Whistling Straits.

7514 – The yardage of Whistling Straits.

1,800,000 – The amount, in dollars, that this year’s winner will claim in prize money.

10,000,000 – The purse for this year’s tournament.