Thank you for signing up to Golf Monthly. You will receive a verification email shortly.
There was a problem. Please refresh the page and try again.
We take a look at the eight biggest rules mistakes golfers make and you need to look out for.
8 Biggest Golf Rules Mistakes
Neil Tappin and Jezz Ellwood talk through the 8 biggest rules mistakes including what you do when you drop and where to tee off from!
WATCH: 8 Biggest Golf Rules Mistakes
8. Dropping Mistakes
This relates to how many club lengths relief you get and there is a general rule of thumb to follow here. This generally is one club length for free relief and two club lengths for a penalty drop.
However this is not always the case for penalty drops. If a penalty area is marked with red stakes, you have three options. You can go back to where you last played from, you can drop back on the same line as far back as you like, or you can take two club lengths from where it last crossed the hazard.
7. Improving Your Lie
The most important thing in golf is play the ball as it lies and a common mistake some players make is stamping down grass behind the ball, or improving their lie as they are identifying their ball. In terms of the latter, the rule now says you have to mark your ball before you lift to identify it, then once you have done so, it has to be put back in exactly the same place.
6. Nearest Point of Relief
The nearest point of relief is one spot, you cannot choose where that is, regardless of where it is. Another pointer is that you have to take full, complete relief too. To take relief you must find the nearest point, take your stance with the club you realistically will play the next shot with, and from that point you get one club length in an arc in which to drop the ball.
5. Teeing Area
Key mistake here is teeing the entire ball up in front of tee markers. In matchplay you could be asked to play the ball again, whereas in stroke-play you get a general penalty of two strokes and beyond that you have to correct the error which means playing another from within the teeing area. You must do so before teeing up on the next hole, or before handing in your scorecard. Failure to do so means disqualification.
4. Matchplay Mistake
This relates to who has the honour at a particular time. A common mistake is people thinking you can tap-in during matchplay and therefore playing out of turn. If you do this, your opponent has a couple of options; they could let it go or ask you to replay the shot.
3. Provisional Ball
If you hit a ball into trouble and you think it might be lost but you aren't sure, if you decide to hit another you have to declare the next shot you hit as a provisional ball. In fact you must say the word 'provisional' too because if you don't then the second ball you hit from the tee will be the ball in play.
2. Sprinkler Heads
You automatically don't get relief from sprinkler heads in some instances. The only occasions you automatically get free relief is if your ball is on the sprinkler or if your stance is on it. Another important thing to remember though is checking the back of your scorecard which will tell you the local rules for dealing with this issue. Some clubs offer extra relief if different criteria are met.
1. Declaring Your Ball Lost
If you hit a ball into trouble, play a provisional, and then find the first one, you have to continue playing from there. You cannot declare it lost because it has been found whereas you can decide to not look for a ball.
For more golf tips and rules videos, do not forget to follow Golf Monthly on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.
Get the Golf Monthly Newsletter
Tips on how to play better, latest equipment reviews, interviews with the biggest names and more.
A golfer for most of his life, Sam is a Senior Staff Writer for Golf Monthly.
Working with golf gear and equipment over the last six years, Sam has quickly built outstanding knowledge and expertise on golf products ranging from drivers, to balls, to shoes.
He combines this knowledge with a passion for helping golfers get the best gear for them, and as such Sam manages a team of writers that look to deliver the most accurate and informative reviews and buying advice. This is so the reader can find exactly what they are looking for.
Sam now spends most of his time testing and looking after golf gear content for the website, whilst he is also responsible for all content related to golf apparel.
He also oversees all Tour player content as well so if you need to know what clubs Tiger or Rory has in play, Sam is the person to ask.
Unfortunately, Sam is not a member of any club at the moment but regularly gets out on the golf course to keep up the facade of having a handicap of five.
Sam's What's In The Bag:
Driver: Titleist TS3 (9 degrees)
Fairway Wood: Callaway Paradym (15 degrees), Nike Covert Tour 2.0 (19 degrees)
Irons (4-PW): Titleist AP2
Wedges: Titleist Vokey SM7 54˚, 58˚
Putter: Scotty Cameron Phantom X 5.5
Ball: Srixon Z-Star Diamond
Who is Belen Mozo? 15 Things You Didn't Know About The Solheim Cup Opening Ceremony Host
Get to know talented amateur Belen Mozo better
By Elliott Heath Published
‘It Was Devastating’ - Bradley Reveals Netflix Filmed Ryder Cup Phone Call
Keegan Bradley says a Netflix film crew rushed around to his house to film him as he was told he didn't make the Ryder Cup team
By Paul Higham Published
How To Regrip Golf Clubs
Knowing how to regrip golf clubs means you can afford to replace them as and when they need replacing
By Joe Ferguson Published
The 7 Scariest Shots in Golf
With Halloween creeping up, we have selected the 7 scariest shots in golf
By Neil Tappin Published
17 Ways To Tell You're Obsessed With Golf
The tell-tale signs that you are a true golf fanatic
By Roderick Easdale Published
10 Of The Best Arnold Palmer Quotes
Here we take a look at 10 of our favourite Arnold Palmer quotes
By Roderick Easdale Published
How To Clean Golf Clubs And Grips
If you want to know how to clean golf clubs and grips, check out this step-by-step guide
By Sam Tremlett Published
When Byron Nelson Was Golf’s Winning Machine
Byron Nelson enjoyed phenomenal golfing success in a relatively brief career. Between 1935 and 1946 he won 50 tournaments including 18 in a single season
By Fergus Bisset Last updated
Golf’s Forgotten Major Winners
Today's Major champions are set for life, they enjoy sustained worldwide fame. It hasn't always been the case. Here we consider some of the forgotten men.
By Fergus Bisset Last updated
Should I Buy New Golf Shoes For Winter?
We highlight some of the reasons why a new pair for winter could be worth the money
By Joel Tadman Published