Dustin Johnson birdied the final hole to win the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am by a single shot from David Duval and J.B. Holmes. Johnson is the first player for 20 years to successfully defend the title in this event.

Johnson went into the last round in a tie at the top with Paul Goydos. But, it was a tough day for the leaders around the famous Californian layout. Johnson’s 74 was the highest closing score by a champion since Johnny Miller posted the same fourth round number in 1994.

Goydos, collapsed completely as he made a disastrous quadruple bogey nine at the par-5 14th. He ended with a 78 and dropped back into a tie for fifth place. “Everything I did on that hole just didn’t work out,” he said.

With the victory, Johnson joins Sean O’Hair as the only Americans in their 20’s with three wins on the PGA Tour. In addition he’s the first player since Tiger Woods to claim victories in his first three seasons straight out of college. He’s also taken the lead in the FedEx Cup standings and climbed to 25th on the Official World Golf Ranking.

Johnson became the first player to win back-to-back at Pebble Beach since Mark O’Meara in 1990. The other’s on that illustrious list are Jack Nicklaus, Cary Middlecoff and Tom Watson.

“It’s great to win back to back years, that’s awesome,” said Johnson. “Anytime you’re on a list with those guys, you’re doing all right.”

David Duval produced four solid rounds to finish in a tie for second with J.B. Holmes. The 2001 Open champion will take great confidence into the Mayakoba Classic next week. “I feel like I did most of the things I wanted to do today,” he said.

AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am
Pebble Beach, Monterey Peninsula and Spyglass Hill, California
Feb 11-14, purse $6,100,000, par 72

1    Dustin Johnson (USA)    64    68    64    74    270    $1,116,000
T2    David Duval (USA)    67    68    67    69    271    $545,600
T2    J.B. Holmes (USA)    65    67    68    71    271    $545,600
4    Steve Marino (USA)    68    67    67    71    273    $297,600
T5    Paul Goydos (USA)    67    65    64    78    274    $226,300

T5    J.P. Hayes (USA)        68    71    63    72    274    $226,300
T5    Josh Teater (USA)    70    67    68    69    274    $226,300
T8    Tom Gillis (USA)        69    68    69    69    275    $186,000
T8    Phil Mickelson (USA)    68    67    69    71    275    $186,000

Note: Player scores in bold signifies Titleist ball usage only