Derek Murray of ForeGolf, Naas, Co Kildare has been named 2010 World Clubmaker of the Year by the Golf Clubmakers Association (GCA), the first time the award has left the United States since it began 20 years ago.

The GCA, based in Texas and founded by Golfsmith in 1980 is the oldest association devoted exclusively to the craft of custom fitting and clubmaking.

Murray beat winners from each US state and Canadian province, as well as competition from around the world.

“The GCA Clubmaker of the Year award acknowledges the best clubmaker in the business and is one of the clubmaking industry’s highest honours,” said Golfsmith USA proprietary vice president David Lowe, who served on the panel of judges. “This award recognises Mr Murray’s ability, integrity and professionalism.”

Neil Cooke, technical director of Goldsmith UK, added: “Although I have seen many good clubmakers graduate it is only rarely that you see someone with the drive, ambition, skill, determination and foresight to really stamp their presence on the world of custom golf clubs.”

Where next?

More industry news: RBC signs Luke Donald and Fred Couples
Tour news: Ben Crane wins Farmers Insurance Open
Equipment news: Wilson Staff FG Tour golf balls review
Win golf prizes: Golf Monthly competitions page