The rejuvenated Englishman, who finished third at the recent US Open at Torrey Pines, joins World No.2, Phil Mickelson, World No. 3, Adam Scott and World No. 5, Ernie Els.

The field also includes defending champion, Gregory Havret, 1999 winner, Colin Montgomerie, and the exciting young German golfer, Martin Kaymer, who won in front of his home fans at last week’s BMW International in Munich.

Additionally, three further former Major champions, Michael Campbell, Paul Lawrie and José-Maria Olazábal have also entered, as has Westwood’s great friend and rival, Darren Clarke, who showed he is back to something close to his top form with an emotional comeback victory at this season’s BMW Asian Open in China.

Westwood is a strong supporter of The Barclays Scottish Open and has warm memories of his victory in 1998 when he put together rounds of 69, 69, 68 and 70 to finish two shots ahead of Robert Allenby, Dennis Edlund, David Howell, Eduardo Romero and Ian Woosnam.

“I lifted the trophy at Loch Lomond exactly ten years ago and I’m hoping for a repeat performance at the Barclays Scottish Open this year,” said the Englishman.

“I finished strongly at the US Open and I’ll be hoping for another good result before entering The Open. The Barclays Scottish Open boasts an incredibly strong field and I’m anticipating an exciting and challenging tournament.”

Last year Gregory Havret defeated Mickelson in a dramatic sudden-death play-off to become the 20th golfer to claim the Barclays Scottish Open title and then left the large crowd in no doubt about what the victory meant to him.

“It feels awesome to have won,” said the Frenchman after collecting the £500,000 first prize. “It’s a dream come true. I have to say that the French Open is obviously very important for me. But, after that, to win in Scotland is just something else.”

This is the thirteenth year in-a-row the Barclays Scottish Open has been staged at Loch Lomond, the previous winners being Thomas Björn (1996), Tom Lehman (1997), Lee Westwood (1998), Colin Montgomerie (1999), Ernie Els (2000 and 2003), Retief Goosen (2001), Eduardo Romero (2002), Thomas Levet (2004), Tim Clark (2005), Johan Edfors (2006) and Gregory Havret (2007).