How good is your understanding of the game's laws? Test your knowledge with our Rules of Golf Quiz
Rules of Golf Quiz: How Well Do You Know The Rules?
How do you rate your grasp of the Rules? Try our quiz, then check your answers at the bottom of the page to see how you’ve scored
Photography: Kenny Smith, shot on location at the PGA Centenary Course, Gleneagles
1) In stroke play, Jezz’s ball lies in a bunker. He touches the sand in the bunker on his backswing. What is the ruling?
A) There is no penalty.
B) Jezz incurs a two-stroke penalty.
C) There is no penalty provided Jezz does not discontinue his swing and completes the stroke.
2) In a match, Fergus putts to two feet. Jezz concedes Fergus’ next stroke and out of courtesy he knocks Fergus’ ball back to him.
A) Jezz loses the hole for testing the surface of the putting green.
B) Jezz loses the hole for practising.
C) There is no penalty.
3) In stroke play, Fergus’ ball comes to rest in a tree. By standing on his golf cart he will be able to make a stroke at his ball. What is the ruling?
A) There is no penalty if Fergus makes a stroke at his ball while standing on the cart.
B) There is no penalty provided Fergus removes the cart before making a stroke at his ball.
C) Fergus will be penalised two strokes for building his stance, irrespective of whether he removes the cart or not.
4) In stroke play, Fergus’ ball comes to rest just outside a lateral water hazard. He removes a lateral water hazard stake that interferes with his swing.
A) There is no penalty.
B) Fergus incurs a penalty of one stroke.
C) Fergus incurs a penalty of two strokes.
1. B – Jezz incurs a two-stroke penalty (Rule 13-4). Before making a stroke at a ball in a hazard (i.e. a bunker or water hazard) you must not touch the ground in the hazard with your club. The backswing is not part of the “stroke” (as defined).
2. C – There is no penalty (Decision 16-1d/1). There is no penalty for casually rolling or knocking a ball back to your opponent in such circumstances.
3. B – There is no penalty provided Fergus removes the cart before making a stroke at his ball (Decision 13-3/5). You are not allowed to build a stance; however, if you build a stance through use of an object such as a cart, you incur no penalty if you remove the object before making your next stroke.
4. A – There is no penalty (Rule 24-1). The stake is an obstruction and if it is movable, it may be removed without penalty (unless the Committee has declared it to be an immovable obstruction; check the Local Rules).
Get the Golf Monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to the Golf Monthly newsletter to stay up to date with all the latest tour news, equipment news, reviews, head-to-heads and buyer’s guides from our team of experienced experts.
Nick Bonfield joined Golf Monthly in 2012 after graduating from Exeter University and earning an NCTJ-accredited journalism diploma from News Associates in Wimbledon. He is responsible for managing production of the magazine, sub-editing, commissioning and feature writing. Most of his online work is opinion-based and typically centres around the Majors and significant events in the global golfing calendar. Nick has been an avid golf fan since the age of ten and became obsessed with the professional game after watching Mike Weir and Shaun Micheel win The Masters and PGA Championship respectively in 2003. In his time with Golf Monthly, he's interviewed the likes of Rory McIlroy, Justin Rose, Jose Maria Olazabal, Henrik Stenson, Padraig Harrington, Lee Westwood and Billy Horschel and has ghost-written columns for Westwood, Wayne Riley, Matthew Southgate, Chris Wood and Eddie Pepperell. Nick is a 12-handicap golfer and his favourite courses include Old Head, Sunningdale New, Penha Longha, Valderrama and Bearwood Lakes. If you have a feature pitch for Nick, please email email@example.com with 'Pitch' in the subject line. Nick is currently playing: Driver: TaylorMade M1 Fairway wood: TaylorMade RBZ Stage 2 Hybrid: Ping Crossover Irons (4-9): Nike Vapor Speed Wedges: Cleveland CBX Full Face, 56˚, Titleist Vokey SM4, 60˚ Putter: testing in progress! Ball: TaylorMade TP5x
LIV Golfer Set To Jump Over 1,000 OWGR Places After Winning International Series Oman (Yet Major Qualification Remains Unlikely)
Carlos Ortiz was well outside of the world's top-1000 players before teeing off in Oman on Thursday, but despite his meteoric rise, he is still a considerable way off qualifying for the Majors
By Jonny Leighfield Published
Mexico Open Leaderboard And Live Report: Jake Knapp Clinches Maiden PGA Tour Win To See Off Sami Valimaki
Knapp pips Valimaki with an even par round to clinch $1,458,000 first prize and entry into the Players and Masters
By James Nursey Last updated