Thomas Pieters Involved In Bizarre Putting Green Rules Incident
Pieters managed to replace his ball on the putting green after it was deemed he accidentally hit it
Thomas Pieters was involved in a bizarre incident at this week's French Open, where he appeared to back off a putt immediately after making impact with the ball.
The Belgian almost made no follow through on his putt, which barely traveled a few feet despite him being some 40ft from the hole, after clearly being distracted by something mid-stroke.
"Never ever seen that before," a shocked Mark Roe said on commentary for Sky Sports.
Watch the incident:
Here's the ruling on Pieters' putting green incident: pic.twitter.com/rQtaNgfCcDSeptember 23, 2022
Pieters managed to replace his ball back to where it originally was after speaking to a referee at Le Golf National, with the shot reportedly being deemed as an accidental hit. He eventually two-putted and walked off with a par.
Rule 13.1.D, when a ball moves on the putting green, states:
"There are two specific Rules for a ball or ball-marker that moves on the putting green.
(1) No Penalty for Accidentally Causing Ball to Move. There is no penalty if the player, opponent or another player in stroke play accidentally moves the player’s ball or ball-marker on the putting green.
Subscribe to the Golf Monthly newsletter to stay up to date with all the latest tour news, equipment news, reviews, head-to-heads and buyer’s guides from our team of experienced experts.
The player must:
- Replace the ball on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated)
- Place a ball-marker to mark that original spot.

Elliott Heath is our News Editor and has been with Golf Monthly since early 2016 after graduating with a degree in Sports Journalism. He covered the 2022 and 2025 Masters from Augusta National and was there by the 18th green to watch Rory McIlroy complete the career grand slam. He has also covered five Open Championships on-site including the 150th at St Andrews.