Open Champions 1860-2008

Get the fulll list of all the British Open golf champions from 1860-2008 from Padraig Harrington, Tiger Woods and Ernie Els to Seve Ballesteros and Jack Nicklaus.

2008 Padraig Harrington Royal Birkdale, Southport, England 2007 Padraig Harrington Carnoustie, Scotland

2006 Tiger Woods Royal Liverpool, England

2005 Tiger Woods St. Andrews, Scotland

2004 Todd Hamilton Royal Troon, Scotland

2003 Ben Curtis Royal St. George's, England

2002 Ernie Els Muirfield, Scotland

2001 David Duval Royal Lytham & St. Annes, England

2000 Tiger Woods St. Andrews, Scotland

1999 Paul Lawrie Carnoustie, Scotland

1998 Mark O'Meara Royal Birkdale, Southport, England

1997 Justin Leonard Royal Troon, Scotland

1996 Tom Lehman Royal Lytham and St. Annes, Lytham, England

1995 John Daly St. Andrews, Scotland

1994 Nick Price Turnberry Golf Links' Aisla Course, Scotland

1993 Greg Norman Royal St. George's, England

1992 Nick Faldo Muirfield, Scotland

1991 Ian Baker-Finch Royal Birkdale, England

1990 Nick Faldo St. Andrews, Scotland

1989 Mark Calcavecchia Royal Troon, Scotland

1988 Seve Ballesteros Royal Lytham, England

1987 Nick Faldo Muirfield, Scotland

1986 Greg Norman Turnberry, Scotland

1985 Sandy Lyle Royal St. George's, England

1984 Seve Ballesteros St. Andrews, Scotland

1983 Tom Watson Royal Birkdale, England

1982 Tom Watson Royal Troon, Scotland

1981 Bill Rogers Royal St. George's, England

1980 Tom Watson Muirfield, Scotland

1979 Seve Ballesteros Royal Lytham, England

1978 Jack Nicklaus St. Andrews, Scotland

1977 Tom Watson Turnberry, Scotland

1976 Johnny Miller Royal Birkdale, England

1975 Tom Watson Carnoustie, Scotland

1974 Gary Player Royal Lytham, Scotland

1973 Tom Weiskopf Troon, Scotland

1972 Lee Trevino Muirfield, Scotland

1971 Lee Trevino Royal Birkdale, England

1970 Jack Nicklaus St. Andrews, Scotland

1969 Tony Jacklin Royal Lytham, Scotland

1968 Gary Player Carnoustie, Scotland

1967 Roberto de Vicenzo Hoylake, England

1966 Jack Nicklaus Muirfield, Scotland

1965 Peter Thomson Southport, England

1964 Tony Lema St. Andrews, Scotland

1963 Bob Charles Royal Lytham, England

1962 Arnold Palmer Troon, Scotland

1961 Arnold Palmer Royal Birkdale, England

1960 Kel Nagle St. Andrews, Scotland

1959 Gary Player Muirfield, Scotland

1958 Peter Thomson Royal Lytham, England

1957 Bobby Locke St. Andrews, Scotland

1956 Peter Thomson Hoylake, England

1955 Peter Thomson St. Andrews, Scotland

1954 Peter Thomson Royal Birkdale, England

1953 Ben Hogan Carnoustie, Scotland

1952 Bobby Locke Royal Lytham, England

1951 Max Faulkner Portrush, Ireland

1950 Bobby Locke Troon, Scotland

1949 Bobby Locke Royal St. George's, England

1948 Henry Cotton Muirfield, Scotland

1947 Fred Daly Hoylake, England

1946 Sam Snead St. Andrews, Scotland

1945 Not played

1944 Not played

1943 Not played

1942 Not played

1941 Not played

1940 Not played

1939 Richard Burton St. Andrews, Scotland

1938 R.A. Whitcombe Royal St. George's, England

1937 Henry Cotton Carnoustie, Scotland

1936 Alfred Padgham Hoylake, Scotland

1935 Alfred Perry Muirfield, Scotland

1934 Henry Cotton Royal St. George's, England

1933 Denny Shute St. Andrews, Scotland

1932 Gene Sarazen Prince's, England

1931 Tommy Armour Carnoustie, Scotland

1930 Robert Jones Jr. Hoylake, England

1929 Walter Hagen Muirfield, Scotland

1928 Walter Hagen Royal St. George's, England

1927 Robert Jones Jr. St. Andrews, Scotland

1926 Robert Jones Jr. Royal Lytham, England

1925 James Barnes Prestwick, Scotland

1924 Walter Hagen Hoylake, England

1923 Arthur Havers Troon, Scotland

1922 Walter Hagen Royal St. George's, Scotland

1921 Jock Hutchison St. Andrews, Scotland

1920 George Duncan Deal, England

1919 Not played

1918 Not played

1917 Not played

1916 Not played

1915 Not played

1914 Harry Vardon Prestwick, Scotland

1913 J.H. Taylor Hoylake, Scotland

1912 Edward Ray Muirfield, Scotland

1911 Harry Vardon Royal St. George's, England

1910 James Braid St. Andrews, Scotland

1909 J.H. Taylor Deal, England

1908 James Braid Prestwick, Scotland

1907 Arnaud Massy Hoylake, England

1906 James Braid Muirfield, Scotland

1905 James Braid St. Andrews, Scotland

1904 Jack White Royal St. George's, England

1903 Harry Vardon Prestwick, Scotland

1902 Alexander Herd Hoylake, England

1901 James Braid Muirfield, Scotland

1900 J.H. Taylor St. Andrews, Scotland

1899 Harry Vardon Royal St. George's, England

1898 Harry Vardon Prestwick, Scotland

1897 Harold Hilton Hoylake, England

1896 Harry Vardon Muirfield, Scotland

1895 J.H. Taylor St. Andrews, Scotland

1894 J.H. Taylor Royal St. George's, England

1893 William Auchterlonie Prestwick, Scotland

1892 Harold Hilton Muirfield, Scotland

1891 Hugh Kirkaldy St. Andrews, Scotland

1890 John Ball Prestwick, Scotland

1889 Willie Park Jr. Musselburgh, Scotland

1888 Jack Burns St. Andrews, Scotland

1887 Willie Park Jr. Prestwick, Scotland

1886 David Brown Musselburgh, Scotland

1885 Bob Martin St. Andrews, Scotland

1884 Jack Simpson Prestwick, Scotland

1883 Willie Fernie Musselburgh, Scotland

1882 Robert Ferguson St. Andrews, Scotland

1881 Robert Ferguson Prestwick, Scotland

1880 Robert Ferguson Musselburgh, Scotland

1879 Jamie Anderson St. Andrews, Scotland

1878 Jamie Anderson Prestwick, Scotland

1877 Jamie Anderson Musselburgh, Scotland

1876 Robert Martin St. Andrews, Scotland

1875 Willie Park Prestwick, Scotland

1874 Mungo Park Musselburgh, Scotland

1873 Tom Kidd St. Andrews, Scotland

1872 Tom Morris Jr. Prestwick, Scotland

1871 Not played

1870 Tom Morris Jr. Prestwick, Scotland

1869 Tom Morris Jr. Prestwick, Scotland

1868 Tom Morris Jr. Prestwick, Scotland

1867 Tom Morris Sr. Prestwick, Scotland

1866 Willie Park Prestwick, Scotland

1865 Andrew Strath Prestwick, Scotland

1864 Tom Morris Sr. Prestwick, Scotland

1863 Willie Park Prestwick, Scotland

1862 Tom Morris Sr. Prestwick, Scotland

1861 Tom Morris Sr. Prestwick, Scotland

1860 Willie Park Prestwick, Scotland

The leading website from the world’s oldest golf magazine, we’re the go-to destination for amateur and keen golfers alike who are keen to up their golfing game. As well as expert course reviews, news and tips to improve your handicap our golf-focused travel content will help you pair teeing off with your travels in some of the best destinations around the globe.