The winners of the 2010 Golf Environment Awards have been announced and Portmore Golf Park, a 27-hole facility near Barnstable, Devon, claimed the overall prize.

The Golf Environment Awards, originally the BIGGA Golf Environment Competition, were created in 1997 with the aim of highlighting those clubs undertaking effective and sustainable projects and to reward individuals for making real improvements to their local environment.

This year there were a significant number of new entries, but the award went to the Devon Club which was established in 1993.

Owner Colin Webber and his family have made the facility environmentally and financially viable.

The environment is considered in every decision that is made at the club and Portmore have shown that a club can offer top-quality playing surfaces, maintain a viable business, and be environmentally friendly.

The full list of Golf Environment Awards winners are as follows:

Principal Awards

Overall Achievement Award – Portmore Golf Park, Colin Webber, Owner/Manager
Conservation Greenkeeper of the Year – Fairhaven Golf Club, Mr James Hutchinson, Greenkeeper

Regional Awards

Scotland – Loch Lomond Golf Club, David Cole, Golf Course Superintendent
Wales – Aberdovey Golf Club, Meurig Lumley, Course Manager
Northern England – Silloth on Solway Golf Club, Brian Story, Course Manager
Southern England – Aldeburgh Golf Club, Mark Broughton, Course Manager

Individual Project Awards

Nature Conservation – Delamere Forest Golf Club, Andy Ralphs, Course Manager
Water Management – Maesteg Golf Club, Mr Rhydian Lewis, Chairman of Green
Waste Management – Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club, Keith Martin, Greenkeeper
Turfgrass Management – Royal St David’s Golf Club, Roger Kerry, Course Manager