South Korean teenager Seung-yul Noh beat his countryman K.J. Choi by a single shot to win the Maybank Malaysian Open in Kuala Lumpur.

Choi birdied the last hole to post the clubhouse target at 13-under-par. It looked like that might be enough to at least force a playoff when Noh hooked his drive from the 18th then fired his second onto the cart path by the practice putting green. But the 18-year-old held his nerve and played a superb chip from behind a hospitality marquee and over a greenside bunker that ended just feet from the cup. He holed the putt and won by a shot.

“I first won on the Asian Tour in 2008 but I struggled last year, but to win early in this year I am very happy,” said Noh. “Coincidentally, when I was playing a practice round with K.J. earlier in the week he asked me when my last win was and when I told him it was in 2008 he said ‘isn’t it about time you won?’ For it to happen this week, I couldn’t think of a better situation.”

Although defeated, Choi was full of praise for his teenage compatriot. “Hats off to Seung-yul, he played well and had a fantastic round. He is one of the most powerful young talents coming up.”

Rhys Davies from Wales fired a final round 71 to end the week in a tie for third with Kiradech Aphibarnrat and Soren Hansen. Englan’s Danny Willett finished alone in sixth.

Maybank Malaysian Open
Kuala Lumpur Golf & Country Club, Malaysia
Mar 4-7, purse €1,600,000, par 72

1    Seung-Yul Noh (Kor)    69    70    67    68    274    
2    K.J. Choi (Kor)        67    70    69    69    275    
T3    Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Tha) 68 69    68    71    276    
T3    Rhys Davies (Wal)    65    69    71    71    276    
T3    Soren Hansen (Den)    70    67    69    70    276 
6    Danny Willett (Eng)    72    69    68    68    277    
T7    Johan Edfors (Swe)    69    69    69    71    278    
T7    Thongchai Jaidee (Tha)    66    71    69    72    278    
9    Jason Knutzon (USA)    73    67    72    67    279    
T10    Mark Brown (NZ)        71    71    72    66    280    
T10    Rahil Gangjee (Ind)    68    75    66    71    280    
T10    Peter Lawrie (Ire)        69    72    71    68    280  
T10    Angelo Que (Phi)        70    67    72    71    280    

Note: Player scores in bold signifies Titleist ball usage only