Golf tips and expert instruction, golf club reviews and the latest golf equipment.
Thank you for signing up to . You will receive a verification email shortly.
There was a problem. Please refresh the page and try again.
Sometimes during the play of a hole you may have the ball in your hand for various reasons and it is Rule 14.1c that details when you are not permitted to clean it. Be warned - cleaning it when you are not allowed to do so will result in a penalty! The video and article below reveal exactly what you are and are not allowed to do.
First though, it's worth reiterating that you are always allowed to clean your golf ball:
1) When you’ve reached the safety of the putting green and are able to mark and lift it.
2) Between the play of two holes
3) Whenever you are taking free relief or a penalty drop.
However, you may have the ball in your hand for other reasons before you reach the green, and there are four specific scenarios where you need to be careful:
1) When lifting your ball under Rule 4.2c to determine if it is cracked or cut and therefore eligible for substitution during the play of a hole. If the ball proves not to be cracked or cut, you are not allowed to clean it before placing it back where it was and continuing play.
2) When lifting your ball to identify it under Rule 7.3. In this scenario, cleaning is allowed only to the extent necessary to be able to identify your ball. So you can clean away any mud perhaps covering your identification mark, but no further cleaning is permitted before placing the ball back where it was and continuing play.
3) When your ball is interfering with play for another player, who requests you to lift it (e.g. on their line on the fringe and they want to putt or when it is too close to their ball for their next stroke). You are not allowed to clean your ball in this situation so you need to either hold it carefully or place it down somewhere carefully before then replacing it once the other player has played their shot.
4) When lifting your ball to see if it lies in a condition from which relief is allowed. A good example here would be when checking to see if your ball is definitely embedded in its own pitchmark or has just settled into a little indentation. If it's the latter, you are not allowed to clean your ball before placing it back down, but if you do end up taking relief under a Rule (e.g. the embedded ball rule) then you are allowed to clean it.
If you clean your ball when not permitted to do so, or more than is necessary when cleaning your ball to identify it, you will be penalised one stroke under Rule 14.1c.
Jeremy Ellwood has worked in the golf industry since 1993 and for Golf Monthly since 2002 when he started out as equipment editor. He is now a freelance journalist writing mainly for Golf Monthly across the whole spectrum from courses and Rules to equipment and even instruction despite his own somewhat iffy swing (he knows how to do it, but just can't do it himself). He also edits The Golf Club Secretary Newsletter, has authored or co-authored three books and written for a number of national papers including The Telegraph and The Independent. He is a senior panelist for Golf Monthly's Top 100 UK & Ireland Course Rankings and has played all of the Top 100 plus 89 of the Next 100. He has played well over 900 courses worldwide in 35 countries, but put him on a links course anywhere and he will be blissfully content. On his first trip to Abu Dhabi a decade ago he foolishly asked Paul Casey what sort of a record he had around the course there. "Well, I've won it twice if that's what you mean!" came the reply...
Jezz can be contacted via Twitter - @JezzEllwoodGolf
Jeremy is currently playing...
Driver: Ping G425 LST 10.5˚ (draw setting), Mitsubishi Tensei AV Orange 55 S shaft
3 wood: Ping G425 Max 15˚ (set to flat +1), Mitsubishi Tensei AV Orange 65 S shaft
Hybrid: Ping G425 17˚, Mitsubishi Tensei CK Pro Orange 80 S shaft
Irons 3-PW: Ping i525, True Temper Dynamic Gold 105 R300 shafts
Wedges: Ping Glide 4.0 50˚ and 54˚, 12˚ bounce, True Temper Dynamic Gold 105 R300 shafts
Putter: Ping Fetch 2021 model, 33in shaft (set flat 2)
Ball: Varies but mostly now TaylorMade Tour Response
'100% False' - PGA Tour After Asian Tour Pro Makes 'Bullying At Its Finest' Claim
The PGA Tour has reportedly said that an Asian Tour pro's claim that it forced players to withdraw from this week's International Series Singapore is "100% false"
By Jeff Kimber • Published
PGA Tour Responds To 'Legally Baseless' Lawsuit Raised By LIV Defectors
The PGA Tour has filed its response to the recent lawsuit ahead of a hearing on Tuesday
By Elliott Heath • Published