Australia’s Adam Scott won the Barclays Singapore Open at Sentosa Golf Club by three shots from Anders Hansen of Denmark. It was Scott’s first European Tour title for more than two years.

It was a seventh European Tour victory for Scott and a third Singapore Open crown – he won the event in 2005 and 2006.

Scott and the other leaders had to return on Monday to complete round four after thunderstorms led to a five hour delay on Sunday. The Australian led by three from Ian Poulter with 10 holes to play when play resumed on Monday morning.

Poulter closed the gap to two when Scott three putted the 10th, but the defending champion nullified that gain by making a bogey at the 12th.

The Englishman’s chances went at the 15th when he drove into the trees and eventually made a double bogey. Scott birdied the same hole to compound Poulter’s woes.

Scott calmly parred the 16th and 17th holes then put the icing on the cake with a birdie at the 18th.

“It feels great,” said Scott. “It’s a relief to finally get finished, it’s been a bit of a long week. I’m very happy to be winning here again. I haven’t been putting my best lately and the demons started creeping in on the back nine, but it’s a course I absolutely love and I’ve played so many great shots here.”

It was Denmark’s Anders Hansen who emerged from the pack to take second place as Poulter stumbled to the line. He closed with a steady round of 68.

Golf Monthly columnist Graeme McDowell continued his good run of form to finish in a tie for third with Sweden’s Rickard Karlberg. The Northern Irishman has closed the gap to Martin Kaymer at the top of the Race to Dubai standings. McDowell is now within striking distance of the German with just two tournaments left to play.

Barclays Singapore Open
Sentosa GC, Singapore
Nov 11-15, purse €4,400,000, par 71

1   Adam Scott (Aus)      65   65   69   68   267   €713,165
2   Anders Hansen (Den)   71   66   65   68   270   €475,438
T3   Rickard Karlberg (Swe)   64   70   70   67   271   €240,907
T3   Graeme McDowell (NIR) 65   68   68   70   271   €240,907
5   Kyung-nam Kang (Kor)   66   67   67   72   272   €181,429
T6   Jamie Donaldson (Wal)   66   69   68   70   273   €139,067
T6   Ian Poulter (Eng)      69   63   68   73   273   €139,067
T8   Miguel Angel Jimenez (Esp) 66 71   71   66   274   €101,412
T8   Keith Horne (RSA)   65   72   69   68   274   €101,412

Note: Player in bold signifies Titleist ball usage only