Clive Agran: Hand in glover but pockets no prize
A remarkable incident in Friday’s second round has not received the coverage it deserves. A hole in one is rare but what Lucas Glover achieved with his tee-shot on the 12th is even rarer
A remarkable incident in Friday s second round has not received the coverage it deserves. A hole in one is rare but what Lucas Glover achieved with his tee-shot on the 12th is even rarer.
Unbelievably, his ball landed in a spectator s pocket. A shot like that really deserves some sort of reward, a cuddly toy perhaps or an umbrella at least. Instead, all Glover got was a free drop under Rule 19-1a, which states: If a player s ball in motion after a stroke other than on the putting green comes to rest in or on any moving or animate outside agency, the ball must through the green or in a hazard be dropped, or on the putting green placed, as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball came to rest in or on the outside agency, but not nearer the hole.
Get the Golf Monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to the Golf Monthly newsletter to stay up to date with all the latest tour news, equipment news, reviews, head-to-heads and buyer’s guides from our team of experienced experts.
-
Who Is Carlos Ortiz's Wife?
Carlos Ortiz and his wife Hayley Ortiz got married in 2017... here's what we know about her
-
A New Fairway Wood, New Irons, And A New Putter! Has Adam Scott Found The Bag Set Up To Win The US Open?
Adam Scott overhauled his golf bag ahead of the US Open, and it seems to be paying off...