Padraig Harrington has been named The 2008 European Tour Golfer of the Year, capping a remarkable season in which the Irishman took his Major tally to three.  

Harrington became the first European to successfully defend the Open Championship since James Braid in 1905-06, and was the first European to win the US PGA since Tommy Armour in 1930.

“When you look at the names of the people who have won The European Tour Golfer of the Year over the past 23 seasons, it certainly shows the standing of the award in the world of golf,” said Harrington.

Robert Karlsson denied the 37-year-old the Harry Vardon Trophy by topping the Money List, but the Dubliner was full of praise for his rival.

“He is a nice guy and he played great golf all year. This has shown the quality of his play and how much he has improved over the years and so, as much as I would have liked to have won it, I am thrilled that he did,” said Harrington.   

The 2008 European Tour Golfer of the Year Award is voted for by a panel comprising representatives of the Association of Golf Writers (AGW), television, radio and the European Tour.   

European Tour Golfer of the Year Award winners:

Colin Montgomerie (4): 1995, ‘96, ‘97, ‘99
Seve Ballesteros (3): 1986, ’88, 1991
Ernie Els (3): 1994, 2002, ‘03
Nick Faldo (3): 1989, 1990, ‘92
Padraig Harrington (2): 2007, ‘08
Bernhard Langer (2): 1985, 1993
Lee Westwood (2): 1998, 2000
Michael Campbell: 2005
Paul Casey: 2006
Retief Goosen: 2001
Vijay Singh: 2004
Ian Woosnam: 1987

Where next?

News: Padraig Harrington wins The European Tour Shot of the Year

European Tour Player of the Year winners

The perfect Christmas gift without the high street hassle – Save up to 35% on a Golf Monthly subscription