Forum Blog: The art of good coaching

Most of us have made that much needed trip to the range. But what constitutes a good lesson... in fact, what makes good coaching?

Tiger Woods with Butch Harmon

The perfect golf swing. One of the holy grails of this great game. An act of finite timing, athleticism and talent that the game’s greatest have all been striving for. Every golfer from the upper echelons of the professional game to the weekend hacker are looking for that repeatable action that delivers a telling blow and allows the ball to soar effortlessly towards the hole. One of the ways a lot of people go about this is to have regular lessons. If it is good enough for Tiger to use a coach then surely lessons will help the average golfer. But what makes a good lesson?

I have been using my coach Grant Sayer for two years during which time my handicap has reduced from 20 to 13 and I have managed to win a number of monthly medals and stablefords. Coincidence? I don’t think so. The first thing conducive to a good lesson is the right environment. Grant is part of N1 Golf Schools and is based out of Maidenhead Golf Centre in Berkshire. A thirty year old family run establishment with good quality range balls, heated bays and top notch mats, its discreet location ensures a quiet atmosphere and is ideal to concentrate on the vagaries of the golf swing.

Having found the right location, a good lesson can only be achieved if the pupil/teacher relationship works. Grant qualified as a Class A PGA pro in 2004 and like many modern coaches looked to develop his teaching credentials. He’s worked with the Leadbetter Academy in Florida and as Head of Instruction at Longshore Golf Club in Connecticut. Our relationship is based on him giving simple to follow instructions that I can easily understand and implement. Personally I like to “feel” the golf swing as opposed to a more regimented teaching style trying to ensure the club is in position A, B or C at any given point.